We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$560
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
48
79
35
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
79
35
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centredouble bedslamming doorshaggisbuilding workfree car parkingfree wifismall roommin walkcomfortable roomsconestvuniversityaccommodationkettlestandrews
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Main positive was the free breakfast. The rooms were of the poorest quality and the staff was rude and not responsive. One main criticism was that the hotel advertised internet but did not specify that it wasn't free. When we tried to pay for internet the connection within the entire hotel was down. Staff refused to grant us the free conference wi-fi code to accomodate. Staff also refused to adjust the rate to accomodate for the lack of internet service. Would not recomend staying here if at all possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the check in desk. Our room was a far walk.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank npolachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

At £85 a night, I must say I expected better, £55 would have been more realistic. Our room was miles from the reception area. You wouldn't want to leave something in the car because it was a real trek to get back to it. The room was cramped and dated with a very thin duvet and there wasn't even a proper showerhead in the treacherous shower room. There was a small old school TV and thin curtains that let in the morning light. Breakfast choice and quality were good but on the first morning it was like arriving at an African watering hole - so many guests chowing down.

I went to reception and said we weren't happy with the accommodation and wished to have our money back for the second night so that we could go and stay elsewhere. We had paid our money up front in good faith. However, the receptionist's hospitality philosophy seemed to be "The customer is always wrong". We should have known what to expect. If we stayed anywhere else in St Andrews we would have to pay more. You can't cancel - it was in the small print when you booked etc..

Now I despise complaining and in the end I had to say - "So you are forcing us to stay here then?" She wouldn't even agree to that even though it was clear we weren't going to simply donate £85 to the university for a second night no-stay. But what really got me is when fifteen minutes later - returning from our distant room, I overheard the same receptionist happily relating to a colleague how she had just had to deal with a difficult "English" customer - in other words me! I hovered close to the reception counter and heard it all. Quite disgraceful and most disrespectful. My request had been firm but courteous and legitimate though it fell on deaf ears. I would never, ever stay at Agnes Blackadder again.

Room Tip: Why not seek accommodation in Crail or Anstruther instead?
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed the night after a friends wedding. Great value for money especially for St Andrews. Rooms small but well laid out and very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Located about 15 min walk from centre so well positioned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrP_DrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My room was small but not cramped and very clean. Breakfast in the morning is hot and delicious. It is located within walking distance from the downtown, so it is well situated but doesn't get noise from the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castlelover2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfect Family accommodation. Clean, Lovely Arran Aromatic's Toiletries, Comfortable Beds (Family of 4 with 6 Year Old and a 9 Year Old). Good Breakfast and very well located for Local amenities. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eildons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews