We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halls were never like this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I stayed in University Hall for 3 nights at the end of June. Accommodation was in short suply in St Andrews as it was graduations week, and I was there for the reunion that follows it, so I'd chosen to stay here, within easy walking distance of the town centre (7-10 minutes)and the Old Course, (5 minutes) rather than look for a hotel further out.

The university accommodation was much more spartan in my day, but this residence was built to convert into a hotel in the summer months. I had a small room, admittedly, but with ensuite shower etc., TV, phone, and good reading lights and desk., and a kettle with a good suply of coffee, teabags etc The rooms - over 500 - are on 3 floors, and there is a lift. On the ground floor there is a cafeteria style restaurant, and a bar, plus vending machines for soft drinks, water and so on.

Breakfast in the restaurant was cafeteria style and more than ample, with porridge and cereals, fresh fruit and 4 types of fruit compote, morning rolls and toast, and w wide selection for the cooked breakfast - not just the usual bacon and eggs, but black pudding, haggis, kippers and Arbroath smokies (a local fish delicacy).

It is self-service - you take your tray and fill up with whatever you want.. and then find a place at the refectory tables. There were not only current graduands and those back at the university for the reunion but golfers, people touring Scotland, even an army platoon, so there was interesting conversation at the meals.

I had one evening meal in the refectory, and this was also excellent - cream of chicken and tarragon soup, stuffed chicken breast with mustard sauce, carrots, cauliflower and Lyonaisse potatoes, and pavlova to follow.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ballymackeonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2008

Finding ourselves unexpectantly needing overnight accomodation in St Andrews at 6.00 p.m. after trying the internet & telephone - some outrageous hotel prices and unavailability of reasonable priced B&B were advised by one full B&B owner to visit the tourist information office in the centre of town - panicking as it was after 6 and worried they would be closed - they came to our rescue (open till 7.00 most nights - thank you) They suggested "New Hall" which is the uni hotel (only available June to mid Sept) as these were by far the one most likely to have rooms available. What a little gem this was - driving in past rabbits enjoying the evening sun arrived at reception and greeted very warmley were given the key to our room. The room was small but it had everything needed, a clean comfortable double bed, 2 bedside tables, wardrobe, dressing table/desk, TV, tea & coffee facilities vanity pack & a perfectly adequate shower room. After showering and going into to town for dinner returned to the bar - mostly used by conference people, but there were a few other guests as well. After a very comfortable nights sleep, enjoyed breakfast, the breakfast room did have a uni feel to it but there was a wonderful varied choice of breakfasts available, everything from porridge, cereals, fresh fruits, continental cheeses and meats and the full scottish cooked breakfast including haggis! For the price charged and last minute availablity I would give New Hall full marks. It certainly beats sleeping the car - which looked like being our next option.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a double room in New Hall at St. Andrews University. The university converts the dorm into a 3-star hotel for summer guests. We were in town for a conference, as were many of the other guests, but there were definitely a number of vacationers staying at New Hall also. You can find info on booking rooms at http://www.escapetotranquillity.com/. Not surprisingly, the room was quite cramped with a double bed. The furnishings also had that spartan dorm-room quality. But the room, bathroom, and common areas were spotlessly clean. It was run like any other hotel, with daily housekeeping service, mini toiletries, tea/coffee fixings etc. Breakfast buffet was included and fairly nice - great selection of cereal, yogurt, rolls, plus Scottish breakfast choices. There was also a pleasant bar open near the lobby, which was nice for an evening beer or cup of tea. New Hall is at a bit of a distance from the center of St. Andrews. It was a solid 15 minute walk to the conference meetings (sometimes in the rain.) I didn't mind, but others might. It helped to have good walking shoes. In all, I was at first skeptical of staying in a dorm room, but was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely recommend New Hall and stay there again if I had the occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank srudy1780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J-B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agnese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BicoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uni_of_St_Andrews, Accommodation, Conferences & Events at Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,273 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range: £78 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing