We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly people”
Review of Arran House

Arran House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arran House
Ranked #70 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly people”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I live in St Andrews, & my Mum, who can't manage stairs, stayed here for a few nights in December as they have ground floor bedrooms with a walk in shower. I chose the twin room, in case she got confused, she did, so I ended up staying too.
We were treated with total understanding, and all in all were delighted with our stay.
The room was very warm & comfortable, there was a comfy sofa to sink into, everything was as it should be.
Many thanks to Anne & her family, & Carol.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, ground floor bedrooms great for the less able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annakucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding. Room more than adequate with comfortable bed. Everything spotless. Breakfast was well cooked and appetising: more than enough for us. Owners very friendly and helpful throughout. Was picked up by the police for going the wrong way down the one way street but I understand this is rather a common occurrence as the police simply gave me a quiet and polite ticking off! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in St Andrews. Have no complaints.....accomodation clean, comfortable and warm.Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. I forgot to take soap etc and was pleasantly surprised to find everything was provided. A word of warning Arran House sits on a one way street take care when arriving in the dark as the signs are not very clear...thanks to the local boys in blue for their kind understanding!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed for one night and while there is nothing wrong with Arran House, there is nothing particularly good about it either. It is in a great location, close to everything but then again there is nowhere in St Andrews town that is a bad location, it is a small place. The room was a good size, the bathroom was fine but quite odd - it was like a little box that was placed in the corner, with the roof level much lower than that of the room. Overall, the room and place are just tired looking. Breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular. And the lady running the place was nice enough, but as other people had mentioned she seemed to prefer standing on the pavement smoking and gossiping, which was a bit unpleasant considering she was doing this in between cooking breakfast. All in all, there are MUCH nicer places in St Andrews.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furtive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The welcome from the owners and their initial communication was a bit odd so I didn't have high hopes but our room was really spacious and the bathroom was huge. The seagulls did disrupt my sleep but that's not their fault.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Arran House is in a great location in St Andrrews. It is a short walk to everything and a few minutes to the Old Course. The rooms are comfortable, clean and good value. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georges-road-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here in April and again in May, both for a couple of days. Bedroom was fine and it's a good location for golf. Only managed to get breakfast a couple of times since anything cooked was unavailable before 8AM unless you requested cereals, juice etc in advance - don't understand this since the landlady was up and about at 7:30. She seemed more interested in smoking in the street and was very unwelcoming - dour and stroppy. The landlord was fine and helpful though. Given the number of good quality B&B's in the area, will certainly not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollybolly2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Andrews hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#17 of 72 in St Andrews
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
McIntosh Hall Campus Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House

Property: Arran House
Address: 5 Murray Park, St Andrews, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Arran House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing