We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arran House

Arran House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arran House
Ranked #76 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This B&B is in a great location. And I really enjoyed the breakfast though I'm not qualified to say whether it was a true English breakfast.

There were several issues that were of little consequence to me but may be issues for other guests. First, the room was quite small and the bed was mediocre. Had I been staying multiple nights this might have gotten tedious but the location would still have made it worth it. By contrast, the detached bathroom across the hall was practically deluxe, being about as large as the bedroom with a full sized shower. My only gripe about the bathroom is that it had a water saving shower head. Scotland may lack sun and reliable internet but surely it doesn't lack fresh water!

My room was on a tall third floor, accessible only by stairs. The WiFi didn't reach the third floor. But it did work well from the breakfast room which met my needs. However, if you need extensive internet use, ask for a room on the first floor or bring a high sensitivity WiFi PCI card.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrusL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed an overnight at this B&B . Room quite comfortable and choice of breakfast fine. .Clean beds and shower and toilet fine. Decor in rooms and the rest of the house needing a bit TLC but in the main it was fine. Good location and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a very central B&B, a couple of minutes from everything in St Andrews. This and the very friendly staff were the best things about it. The single room I stayed in for four days was fine, if on the small side, and good value for money. The bathroom was across the landing but huge (probably twice the size of the room). Both were clean (I won't say spotless), though the bath towel was really old. The floors were very creaky, which is not great if you're trying to sleep and people come back to their rooms in the middle of the night (but I guess it's an old house and little could be done in that respect). The WiFi did not work at all in the room so had to spend a lot of time in the sitting room which doubles up as breakfast room. The breakfast was OK, I adored the potato cakes, but otherwise nothing too exciting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolettaki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSTERDAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

If you are not overpricing your accomodation, you might get better reviews. We stay in Craigmore house next door, really good, paid 100 Gbp, we paid 85 GBP here but what a difference. Lousy bed, toilet very average, Tv with one channel from the seventies Now for 65-70 this might be bearable, but not for 85 GBP. And if the internet doesn`t work in the rooms (which is vital for me) you don`t say That is courtsey of us , so don`t complain, be glad you have it, because that is really very DUMB.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofswingAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Andrews hotels

Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We arrived late with no reservations. Friendly hostess, substandard accommodation. You could hear everything through the walls. The bed was lousy but bathroom good, they built ridiculous tacky pre-fab closets in the bedroom, the room better without. The breakfast in the morning was handled by only one person, but satisfactory. Certainly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krischad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a hard time finding accommodation in St Andrews. Spent the whole day on the phone ringing places. So many were full (& it was a Mon night). They are clearly used to golfers who are prepared to pay a bit. We found a room at Arran House. The host asked for 85 pounds & put us in a room through the staff area out the back which was clearly a store-room or something earlier. It was like being in a cupboard, very claustrophobic atlhough the bathroom was large. Definitely NOT worth the 85 quid she was charging for it. We asked if she had another room. She hesitated & 1st said no, then said ok & we had a room upstairs which was much nicer (#7). Had a lovely little window looking out over the historic rooftops. Bathroom was a squeeze but manageable for 1 night. But they only provided 1 towel. Bed was comfy. Had a nice little table with chairs to have a cup of tea. TV small but not a problem for us. Wireless only worked in the dining room downstairs. Breakfast ok but didn't get a lot as in some places in Scotland & England. Although everything was clean, we felt it was quite expensive for what you get, particularly if we had stayed in that first room downstairs. If it were cheaper, yes, might stay here again but not for the price we ended up paying. There are plenty of other better places in St Andrews but you just need to book a little ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room & check before you settle for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaLosang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Good location in the center of St Andrews, close to the golf course restaurants and bars plays to go with the boys on a golf trip not much more

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#16 of 77 in St Andrews
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House

Property: Arran House
Address: 5 Murray Park, St Andrews, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Arran House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing