We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day out”

Craigtoun Country Park
Ranked #5 of 54 things to do in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Craigtoun Park is a 47 acre park only 2 miles from St Andrews. The park itself is open 24/7 and it's a great day out for the whole family. During the season try the Rio Grande railway, Crazy Golf, Putting and Puffin,Billy - the road train that takes you round the whole Park. There are boats and pedaloes, a Bouncy castle and pedal cars for the little uns all open 10 - 5 weather permitting. The cafe is open every Saturday throughout the year and every day from April 1st to the end of October. It serves hot and cold food, teas and coffees and has a huge selection of ice creams. The paid for attractions open on 1st April this year and are then open every weekend and all Fife School holidays until the end of October 2017. More detail on our own website.
Tillicoultry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a great day out for all the family. There is so much there for all ages. Rowing boats, pedalos, Crazy golf, Pitch & Putt, Trampolines,Train, Tractor, Play park and beautiful gardens to walk around. It does not cost anything to enter and the rides are a minimal cost, so it does not cost a fortune as some other attractions do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    100
    27
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Fun”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Superb Easter Family Day out spent at Craigtoun. Fabulous location for a picnic but there's also a brilliant cafe for ice creams and coffees. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were a party of 10 people of various ages and we loved the place. I would definitely place this as my number one venue in Fife (if not Scotland) to visit with children, as there is so much to do from crazy golf, pedalo boats & rowing, to tractor & train rides, trampolines & a bouncy castle plus lots of room to roam! It is very reasonably priced at £20 for a family ticket which gives you free access to all activities. However if people would prefer you don't need to pay anything to access the Park and can pay just £1.50 per person per activity. I think given the right investment (in rides) it could become the Alton Towers of Scotland. The location is perfect & there are a number of suitable venues for speciality hotels. I can't recommend Craigtoun enough & will definitely be back. To sum it up in one word - Fantastic!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day our”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great fun at Craigtoun Park, a family ticket of £20 great value for unlimited putting, crazy gold, trampolines, bouncy castle, rowing boars, pedelos, tractor ride, train rides. Friendly staff great park. Lovely day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't hurry back .”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited the park today was very busy due to it being Easter Sunday . Paid for a family ticket costing £20 and ended up asking for a refund . Waited 50 minutes for a ride on the train which ended up having a minor crash with the parks tractor and decided not to wait any longer. Staff did not inform the people who were waiting for the train on what was happening and so we were all left standing . Another 50 minute wait for boats which we didn't get on as wouldn't wait any longer . Train on a busy day should Mabey only go round the park once instead of twice to ensure people can use the attractions they have paid to use without a very long wait with small children .Perhaps on a different day an ordinary weekend this park would be better but based on today I would not return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdonal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Easter fun day!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great Easter spent at Craigtoun.

Family of 4, £20 for wristbands and we could play as much putting, crazy golf, train & tractor rides, rowing and pedalo boats, trampolines as we could fit in!

Bargain day out.

Also recommend the cafe - ice cream shop had a brilliant selection of around 20 different flavours, also do great smoothies.

Aside from this there was the usual open space, for barbies/ picnics/ games; and also a great play park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn_MacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craigtoun Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Craigtoun Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing