We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botanic gardens”

St Andrews Botanic Garden
Ranked #8 of 54 things to do in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Botanic gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A beautiful, peaceful garden to stroll round and very reasonable at £2 per adult We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenaspey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    78
    19
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oasis of beauty and peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The rhodies are out along with most of the spring flowers and tree blossoms. Take a couple of hours when next you are in St Andrews and let time stand still for a while. You'll plan to come back soon to see the next lot of flowers in bloom.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We happened across these gardens by chance and were so glad we did. The gardens were immaculate, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the variety of plants on display rivals anything I've seen in some of the larger Scottish cities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were a bit early in the year to see the gardens at there best but what we saw I think it will be great at full bloom

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank merc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The sun was shinning which made this experience even better, especially as it only cost us £1 each to get in. There was lots to see, including pineapples growing and vanilla pods, which we had never seen before. The place was almost deserted which meant we could walk in peace and quiet to take in the atmosphere. The glasshouses were rather hot but that meant we got to see amazing plants, including a flowering bird of paradise! Plus it meant that the slight breeze outside was rather welcome. The only slight negative is that the plants they have for sale are extremely overpriced, but it just meant that we did not buy anything! Will be back as it was a great afternoon activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Andrews Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to St Andrews Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing