We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insight into academic history”

Museum of the University of St Andrews
Ranked #14 of 54 things to do in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: The Museum of the University of St Andrews (MUSA) is a free museum displaying some of the amazing treasures from the University's collection of over 112,000 artefacts. The Museum is located on the Scores in St Andrews and is home to St Salvator's Mace, which is still used in Graduation and Welcome ceremonies to this day. The museum has four galleries, a 'Learning Loft' and a viewing terrace with stunning panoramic views over St Andrews Bay. MUSA is family friendly and its galleries feature a number of fun hands-on interactives as well as an art cart which is full of creative activities for children from dressing up to drawing. Free admission.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Insight into academic history”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a splendid little attraction, all for free, that gives you a first class glimpse at the history of this ancient seat of learning. There are some good displays and hands-on activity and even a balcony with a lovely view over to west sands. Well worth a few minutes of your day in the city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musa S, Senior Visitor Services Facilitator at Museum of the University of St Andrews, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the review Neil, we're really happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We now have a temporary exhibition space in gallery 4 so please do pop by again if you are back in St Andrews. Our upcoming exhibition in September focuses on the study of Medicine in St Andrews, which promises to be really interesting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    50
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“small but good”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a small but immaculate museum, that also has a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. Good for an hour visit, to get the history of this historic town and university. FREE.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMFBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musa S, Senior Visitor Services Facilitator at Museum of the University of St Andrews, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of MUSA. We're glad you enjoyed the museum, and of course our famous terrace view! One of the great things about the University of St Andrews is that it has always been closely integrated with the town, so visitors to MUSA learn a lot about local history as well as the University.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very well done exhibition . One gets the sense of history as well as information about the great programs offered and sense of history of the institution.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musa S, Senior Visitor Services Facilitator at Museum of the University of St Andrews, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your kind review Carolyn! We're very proud of our long history as the oldest university in Scotland so we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the exhibitions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A quick visit”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is a small museum. Pretty interesting for some displays. It is a museum for you to understand about St Andrews university; it's history, societies, inventions etc. But there is a pretty nice view from the top of the museum. Worth to drop by for awhile.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musa S, Senior Visitor Services Facilitator at Museum of the University of St Andrews, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the review Vivian. We're glad you enjoyed the museum. The view from the terrace is a highlight for many of our visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really boring and a waste of wonderful mueseum space. Fantastic views though.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I visited this museum and I was extremley disappointed. The ladies at reception were not welcoming and no interaction was interpreted . I gathered a little bit of info on the University but was quite bored with the museum in general . But the balcony was one of the best viewing spots we encountered on our trip as the telescope was wonderful and some great photos were taken also it was a wonderful feeling to feel that sea air in your face !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jedidah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musa S, Senior Visitor Services Facilitator at Museum of the University of St Andrews, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the museum boring: visitors often tell us that they find the history of the University extremely interesting. People also usually enjoy MUSA’s interactive displays such as the archery game and the kaleidoscopes. Our Front of House staff are more than happy to receive any feedback in person, and we endeavour to ensure every visitor’s experience is enjoyable. It is therefore regrettable that this feedback is given 6 months after the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the University of St Andrews also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing