We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cri pie!”
Review of The Criterion

The Criterion
Ranked #13 of 158 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We are an award winning family run traditional scottish pub in the centre of St Andrews, offering a range of traditional pub favourites made from locally sourced ingredients and have over 170 Malt Whiskies, 70 Gins and 6 Cask Ales. Open and licensed from 10am every day, we have FREE WIFI, Barista Coffee, Live Sports shown, outside seating and are Dog Friendly. Pop in for a true taste of St Andrews & Scotland.
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Wee visit to St Andrews and first pub we went to was the Criterion - good choice. Great pub, great music, friendly staff and good choice of refreshments but best of all was the cri pie- very tasty, a meal in itself. Different fillings to suit all - yum yum. Live music brill too
- fab.

Thank rkelly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HL75, Owner at The Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Hi

Thanks for your lovely comments regarding your visit to our bar. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Cri Pie! We have recently introduced some exciting new flavours so come back soon and try a new variety.

Kind Regards
Hazel Latto
Criterion Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2015

Dropped in for lunch after exploring St Andrews. Great Service, with a smile from Hazel. Lovely friendly atmosphere. Can recommend the burger.Its everything a pub should be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edinburghcassie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HL75, Owner at The Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Hi

What a lovely review, thanks so much. It is always easy to smile when we have such friendly customers. Hope to see you and your lovely wife again very soon.

Kind Regards
Hazel Latto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Very friendly staff. Good food and dogs welcome inside so don't have to freeze outside. Great atmosphere and lovely bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karent39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HL75, Owner at The Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Hi

Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you and your dog again soon.

Kind Regards
Hazel Latto
Criterion Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Ordered the Cri Pie, which turned out to be a very sizeable steak-and-ale pie under a flaky pastry lid. There were large chunks of steak and the gravy was delicious! Companion ordered the goat's cheese, pesto, and red onion panini (one of the relatively few vegetarian options, but no complaints here) and quite liked it.

To top it all off, the Criterion is (well-behaved) dog friendly, and so we were able to bring our seven-pound Yorkshire terrier/poodle mix in with us. She quite liked it as well!

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lakookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HL75, Owner at The Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Hi

Thanks for your great review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to our bar. We have started to introduce a "pie of the week" with some new vegetarian pies on offer so hopefully you can come back and try one of those soon.

Kind Regards
Hazel Latto
Criterion Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

These guys really know how to do local! Local beers from Eden which we really enjoyed after the tour. Thanks!

1  Thank slammer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HL75, Owner at The Criterion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Hazel Latto
Criterion Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Criterion also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Criterion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing