We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointing lunch, meagre quantities and in correct descriptions”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Central

The Central
Ranked #48 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“dissappointing lunch, meagre quantities and in correct descriptions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This looked like a nice pub and with good selection of real ales seemed an ideal place for lunch.
We (group of 4) wanted to eat light. so the ladies oredred nachos for two and i ordered my favorite Croque monsuier,
What we received was a meagre plate of Nachos with hardly any cheese melted thru it. the price was £8.49 and my Croque monsuier was a cheese/ham toasty. (very nice toasty BTW)
We complained and waitress agreed it was a cheese toasty. The manager said that the nachos were subject to "portion control". The toasty (Croque monsuier) he remarked had received some critiscism on this point.
Any way fair point was the manager deducted the Nachos from the bill which was fair as we had left have the plate of bare nachos.
This would make me visit again, good beer selection and pleasant surrondings and waitress was very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElliottPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    98
    27
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Visited the Central last Thursday for lunch with my wife and chose the Fish and Chips plate for two. The food arrived quickly and the battered fish and breaded scampi looked and tasted delicious, the batter crispy and the fish moist plus mushy peas, pickle onions and chips. It has a varied menu and good beer on tap and bottled. It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and efficient. We will definitely return

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetland, halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

As real ale fans this was great, good atmosphere, friendly cheerful staff. Food was week cooked and well presented well above standard pub grub.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the best in a town full of pubs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is one of my favorites in St. Andrews, since there is plenty of seating, a lovely old wood bar with great bartenders, an above-average selection of beer, and a nice atmosphere full of students, older locals, and travelers. I haven't eaten here in years, so I won't comment on the food, but as a nice place to relax with a pint or a dram (all of the area bars have a great whisky selection), this is one of the best.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This bar on Market street is very well run with a good selection of beers to suit all tastes,the staff, who took time to explain the the different types of beer and the taste were very friendly and most helpful, nothing was any trouble.
I visited there with two guest's, we had the taditional fish and chips which was excellent, well cooked,hot, and served on hot plates along with a selection of three sauces.
As for the price, very good value for what was on offer, I would be delighted to go back there next time in St. Andrews.
If you are looking for good food & a drink at a fair price in a warm and cosy atmosphere this is the place to go, don't miss it, well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ageingvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Central also viewed

 

Been to The Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing