We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very friendly staff”

Bell Craig Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell Craig Guest House
Ranked #51 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here to play golf at the Old Course, very convenient location, only 400 yards from the first tee, the room was very clean and the landlady was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Bell Craig House was perfect for the golf trip my son and I took to Scotland. Hazel, who keeps the home, was especially gracious, making sure we had a breakfast available to us, even though we had tee times before the regular breakfast time. The normal breakfast was always good -- and was served in an attractive room.

The room we had was small, but clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Additionally, they had a locked room for our clubs. It was really perfect for what we needed. Plus, it was affordable and just a three minute walk to the Old Course.

I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Helpful host. Room comfortable and well decorated. Wifi reception poor but able to connect. Breakfast average. Free parking available in nearby carpark. Walk to St Andrews.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed for one night and had two rooms recently. The rooms were very small - as if the normal size bedrooms had been divided into two. We asked to move rooms as there was no hot water to wash/shower. Eventually were allowed to move and it was the same in the second room. Our hostess didn't seem happy we'd complained! Breakfast was fine. Glad we were just there the one night. Really don't think it is a 4*.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronatmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila40, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at BELLCRAIG
Feed back i got from my assistant Hazel was that you had no hot water
all our showers are electric so you get instant hot water
Hazel changed your room for you she then had to go and service the first room you were in as you had used the shower.toiletries and towels????
The second room you were given you were still not happy
again you said there was no hot water and kept asking for a discount.i believe Hazel gave you a £10 discount
The water in that room was also hot i believe you did not pull the switch for hot water
Breakfast you have a menu for that and you can choose whatever you want of it
i do not think it is fair to say we are a not a four star i have spent a lot of money and time
upgrading the property
As for the rooms they are not one room divided into two it is an old victorian building
so the rooms are not massive but adequate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Joan and I stayed at bell Craig for a full week. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone travelling in Fife/Scotland from anywhere in the world. The decor was fabulous. Hazel was an excellent 'host' and the other staff could not be more helpful and courteous. The breakfasts were delicious and filling.

Room Tip: All of the rooms is equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardandJoan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband, son and I just got back from a wonderful week's stay at the Bell Craig Guest House in St. Andrews, Scotland. We stayed on the second floor in Room #2, one of the family rooms. The room. like the rest of the Guest House, is tastefully decorated and spotless. I loved the fact that it smelled as clean as it looked. Both of the beds, a queen and a single, are very comfortable and for my part, I slept like a babe. Breakfast is served in a sun-lit dining room. The menu is varied and delicious.

As for its location, the Bell Craig is situated half a block from North Street, one of St. Andrews three principal streets. This means that we were spared any noise of heavy traffic but were nevertheless only a ten-minute or less walk away from the beaches, golf courses, university buildings and downtown restaurants or shopping. The owners, Sheila and Sandy, are warm and pleasant and Hazel is simply great . Whenever we asked for her help, she went the extra mile, whether to map out for us how to get somewhere, give my husband and me access to a phone to get hold of our son or furnish us with an extra umbrella in a downpour. In fact, the friendliness of everyone at the Bell Craig is such that the day our son graduated from the University of St. Andrews, they surprised him with a congratulatory card. What a lovely gesture! This was our first stay at the Bell Craig but we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrellita90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed at the Bell Craig for one night and it was excellent. We stayed in room 1 which was fab. Staff were lovely and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMoJo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 16 in St Andrews
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#11 of 73 in St Andrews
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#14 of 73 in St Andrews
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#6 of 73 in St Andrews
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Craig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Craig Guest House

Property: Bell Craig Guest House
Address: 8 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bell Craig Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing