We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk to the course”

Bell Craig Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell Craig Guest House
Ranked #51 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Duffus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walk to the course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Four of us stayed here for three nights. The twin room was admittedly small but the family room with a double and a single bed was quite spacious and comfortable. Hazel was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was of golfing proportions. You can also park for free in the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palodegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in several B & B's in Scotland, England and Spain and Bell Craig was not among the best. The rooms were clean, but cramped and we couldn't close the toilet/bathroom sliding door at all, which was embarrassing if someone came to the door of the room. Breakfast gave the impression that food was rationed, with very little laid out in the way of fruit and cereal ( one day there were 2 bananas and 3 prunes in the bowl). The staff were not unfriendly but one would have had to have been a brave soul to complain. I believe the location, close to St Andrews golf course, is the reason continues to charge the rates it does, as its hard to see how it is 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipeter1, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay at the Bellcraig
I Have spoken with Hazel who was working when you were there.Sorry you felt the room was cramped but you must remember they are old houses snd they don't have huge rooms?????
as for breakfast we always have four cereals,cheeses fresh and dried fruits.segments and prunes you also have a menu to choose a cooked breakfast from (we do not ration our food)guests can have as much as they want.I do not understand what you mean by you would have to be a brave person to complain if you had a complaint you should have spoke to a member of staff who would have dealt with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We found pros and cons with Bell Craig. The biggest pro was the location (good to visit St Andrews on foot). The room we were in was a bit cramped (room 7), with strange sliding doors - e.g. bathroom door that was sliding and didn't lock.

The welcome pack was sparse - one page from the website and some contact numbers.

The breakfast was okay, but the selection from the breakfast "buffet" was very limited and the staff a bit glum (not rude, but not particularly friendly).

On arrival, we were greeted with a rather unusual "you're cutting it fine" (we struggled to park with the roadworks outside and had a wedding to get to), but the same lady was much more friendly on our departure.

We were given 2 sets of keys, which could have been useful, although chuckled when she said "in case you come back separately"!

All in all, we had a reasonable stay, but this is definitely a 3 star experience, not a 4 star. They say location is everything, which keeps this place in the "good value" category, but we wouldn't go there for a romantic mini-break!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Two night stay in order to visit our son. Location very good for the town, golf and beach. Staff friendly and very accommodating, food good and well presented, room clean and comfortable. Happy to recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great Location. Walking distance to everything in St. Andrews. Hazel allowed us to store my daughter's bags downstairs prior to her moving into her dorm. The room's are very nice and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast's are generous and tasty!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our second stay at the Bell Craig and even nicer than last year. Hazel organised early breakfast for us on the days we needed it , good choice on the menu. The larger of the family rooms is great although the bathroom is tiny but in this period of house I would not expect anything else. Fantastic location right in the heart of things. All round great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kollbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here to play golf at the Old Course, very convenient location, only 400 yards from the first tee, the room was very clean and the landlady was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#15 of 77 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#4 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Craig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Craig Guest House

Property: Bell Craig Guest House
Address: 8 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bell Craig Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing