We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wherever you are staying, take a meal here.”
Review of The Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Visited the Russel Hotel restaurant while on a golf outing in June 2011. The food was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful in describing some of the dishes we weren't that familiar with . Owner, Gordon dropped by the table to visit and chat for a bit during dinner. This was our first experience with haggis and it, to our suprise, was delicious. In fact, one in our group liked it so well, he ordered for like the next three nights wherever we ate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Decided to drop in for lunch before heading back to Edinburgh. Food was brilliant but to top it off the manager/owner filled us in on a small slice of his whiskey knowledge (favorite subject). We spent an hour listening and trading stories of whiskey and even got to try some of the cask strength whiskey.

Over all great place, great food and great staff.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank adhillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is in a good location near the golf course, university and cathedral. Some of the rooms overlook the sea and views of the golf course. The rooms are basic but clean with remodeled baths. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating. The best surprise with this hotel is their quaint restaurant and wonderful food. All four of us ordered something different and every meal was beautiful and delicious.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view of the sea. Our friends enjoyed the scenery but their room was very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twopilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Fantastic menue, generous serves ,great staff, median price, the best way to unwind after a say on the course.
So good ate there three times. It was recomended by the staff at 6murray park guest house st andrews. They wernt wrong!,

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed one night with my daughter. Shown to a room with beautiful views. Place very tired and in desperate need of an upgrade. Staff very friendly and had a fabulous lunch. Had to ask to have the sheets changed on one of the beds as there were hairs on display when the quilt was pulled back. Also, the pillow was flat and case creased. The sheets and case were changed almost immediately.

The charge of £150 for the night was way off the mark as this is possibly the most tired accommodation that we've stayed in. Marked it 4 star for the view, the lunch and the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We spent a long golfing weekend at the Russell Hotel - 2 golfers and 2 non golfers. The hotel is close to the courses and the owner and staff were helpfull in getting our golf sorted.
The rooms were plenty big enough and very clean.
The highlight was the superb food. The arbroath smoky I had for breakfast was superb and the dinner was a treat - mussles and venison among the best ever.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy191251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Room was hideously small I couldn't even get my suitcase inside.. No elevator so we had to cart our bags all the way up the stairs! It was by far the worst accommodation I've stayed in so far whilst in Scotland!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharn1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,343 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range: £113 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews
The Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing