We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Exactly what you would hope for, this is a great little hotel in St Andrews with clean, cosy rooms, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Really enjoyed my stay in this lovely hotel.

Would definitely recommend to others

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    80
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
105
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotlandwell
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

For many years we have used the Russell Hotel as the place to take family and friends when they are in St.Andrews. Despite having hot competition form the various cafe's and restuarants The Russell has maintained a gourmet's delight of food based on their bar and restuarant menu's. From the traditional scottish fayre to more modern delights the Russell does not disappoint. Also if there is a group of 7/8 then you can book the Locker Room which gives the diners a privacy and atmsophere based on the Golf that has always been a part of St.Andrews.
It is always a delight that you meet the same staff that were there 10/15 years ago which along with St.Andrews is such a part of the experience of thei 'Grey Toon'

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockstarScotlandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

St Andrews is a beautiful place so we decided to stay for the night and booked a room on the phone about 20 minutes before walking into the hotel.

Although there isn't parking outside you can park on the streets. The hotel is right in the centre of St Andrews and the room we had, had a lovely view on the sea at the front of the hotel. The bathroom was great and the nights sleep, sound. There is a breakfast included in the morning which is perfectly adequate.

Recommended although a little expensive for the time of year and being 'essentially' a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We did not stay here but stayed at the Golf hotel a few doors down the road. We came here for drinks as the little lounge was gorgeous. Fire, candles and friendly staff. It was by far the best bar in St. Andrews. The food looked tasty too. The barman was extra friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enquiries661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Friendly establishment, restaurant booking essential. This is a popular hotel with golfers, not far from the Royal and Ancient. There was a warm welcome, and we were quickly shown through to the restaurant which has several rooms so that dining is quite cosy. Choice was very good, waitress service attentive. The meals were of a high standard. My partner and I had mussels in white wine as a starter, followed by monkfish main course, and finally coffee. Others in the party had steaks... maybe that's an American thing... but we prefer our seafood which was excellent, and skipped the sweet course which also was very enticing... but the generous portions we had eaten precluded us joining in... and we hadn't been walking the golf courses!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Visited the Russel Hotel restaurant while on a golf outing in June 2011. The food was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful in describing some of the dishes we weren't that familiar with . Owner, Gordon dropped by the table to visit and chat for a bit during dinner. This was our first experience with haggis and it, to our suprise, was delicious. In fact, one in our group liked it so well, he ordered for like the next three nights wherever we ate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Decided to drop in for lunch before heading back to Edinburgh. Food was brilliant but to top it off the manager/owner filled us in on a small slice of his whiskey knowledge (favorite subject). We spent an hour listening and trading stories of whiskey and even got to try some of the cask strength whiskey.

Over all great place, great food and great staff.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank adhillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
472 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Andrews
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Andrews
358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews
The Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing