We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Port in a storm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Port in a storm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived in St. Andrews late one afternoon having not arranged for a place to stay. B&Bs nearby were showing "no vacancy" signs. When we found this place, we gladly took a room for one night. No complaints really, but nothing to rave about. Location is awesome and the room they had available had an ocean view - definite plus. When we looked at the room, we had to focus on the view as the décor was so tacky! The place definitely could use a decorator :) The service was fine. Cute bar downstairs (which we realized late we were right above). We did not have dinner there. The breakfast in the morning was fine, but the service was not overly friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    77
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
37
102
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, genuinely out to please, organised taxi to pick us up,
Good sized room excellent en suit.
The menu and food were really good with plenty to choose from also great selection of beers and wines. Staff went out of their way to please. Breakfast was served with a simile and was really good.
Good value for money, would recommend and will return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Friendly staff provide great service. Very tasty evening meal with good quality ingredients and perfectly cooked fish + scallops. Also lovely breakfast. Cosy hotel that is good value for money. Free onstreet parking just round the corner. 1 block from cinema + cafes. 2-3 blocks from good selection of shops / bars/ restaurants.

Room Tip: Sea view or Garden view options. Awsome view of beach from front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawacathy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Popped in for dinner in the cosy lounge bar, after receiving a frosty reception at nearby seafood restaurant. The very welcoming barman at the Russell looked after us until the kitchen opened - a very nice chardonnay for me (always a good sign when the house wine is praiseworthy) and a perfectly poured guiness for my partner. We both had well-sized portions of fish and chips which were excellent - very fresh fish and wonderfully crispy batter. The only thing missing was a dollop of mushy peas! The owner of the hotel was looking after the needs of a party of golfers to ensure they were making the most of their visit, but he made time to come and talk to us to ensure that we too were happy with the food and the service.
I used the restaurant here to entertain visitors when I worked in St Andrews many years ago - it was very good then and I can happily recommend it you now.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDajaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, as part of on itison deal. Would recommend, staff excellent, food delicious, which to be honest I was surprised by, as the rooms and front of hotel are completely different in style to the decor of the dining area. The room we had was very clean with a large shower room, although the furniture was tired and the bed linen did not match. Good selection of wines and beers with a friendly bar man, the bar seemed to be a local with regulars. Good central location with parking easily found.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icmelerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel itself is lovely and our room was small but had spectacular views across West Sands and out to see. On arrival it took us a while to find someone to check us in and similarly when we wanted to check out and pay we had to search for staff! The room was very comfy, warm and welcoming and breakfast was superb. During our 1 night stay however the hotel did have a problem with some vandals getting onto the roof of the property - there was a lot of shouting, swearing and banging for a few hours that night. In the morning we found a piece of paper posted under our door asking us to be careful of glass on the stairs. The vandals had broken the skylight and there was glass on the carpet all the way down the stairwell and large shards of glass still hanging from the ceiling! Needless to say we went down the stairs very quickly in case these fell! Not very safe at all! I would have expected this to have been dealt with much quicker as it was a huge safety hazard. We were offered an explanation as we were checking out but no real apology or offer of recompense for our disturbed night sleep!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Exactly what you would hope for, this is a great little hotel in St Andrews with clean, cosy rooms, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Really enjoyed my stay in this lovely hotel.

Would definitely recommend to others

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing