We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, friendly staff who give excellent service.”
Review of Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Russell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning view, friendly staff who give excellent service.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed overnight with my husband at this lovely hotel. We had a beautiful room over looking the Sea. The upgrade was well worth it. From the moment we entered into this hotel the service was fault less. Staff could not do enough for you. We will certainly be back. Jim and Marie

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    80
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
104
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel earlier this month. We actually booked in for 2 nights 4 weeks in advance while we were there having dinner one evening. We were told our room would have a sea view with a bay window. On arrival our room did have a sea view on the floor below but not the one with a bay window as promised. As we wouldn't be spending much time in the room we actually weren't too concerned. What did concern us greatly was the awful smell in the en-suite shower room - basically it smelt like an old urinal!! They are obviously aware of this stench as there is an air freshener spray in there! It was very off putting and we dreaded having to use the loo or shower. Should have complained but we were in the room for such a short time we didn't bother. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was very good. However, although we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, we did book in for lunch and having waited 40 minutes for the main course to arrive (which didn't) following our starter and despite being the first for our order to be taken we left - we weren't the only ones either. This hotel is ideally located for the town and golf but is definitely over priced for the stay. Avoid room 6!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapeseedrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for a golfing trip - twin room was fine with reasonable decor, decent size and good bathroom (grout could do with replacing in a couple of spots but that is being a bit picky).
What makes this hotel is the great, friendly staff and the excellent reasonably priced food both in the bar and the restaurant. Very good breakfast included in the price - room price not cheap at £140 per night but seems to be the going rate for anything half decent in St.Andrews.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will be staying again in the future if I get the chance. Head barman is slightly eccentric (not sure about being called "Laddie" as I am nearly 50) but the customer service that he gives and friendliness is beyond the call of duty.
Location is superb, right on the bay with an easy walk to the Old Course and the New Course and also into the centre of St. Andrews with its good pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I tried to book a 3 night stay at this hotel. Three phone calls and no confirmation or booking. On the first call the man confirmed our dates and price and promised to e-mail confirmation. 3 weeks later nothing. The second call (10 days later) confirmed we had a booking and promised reservations would confirm, again nothing. Two weeks later I again telephoned the hotel which apparently had no record of our booking and were now full. Totally inept. I normally prefer to book direct with hotels, but maybe now they can't be bothered and only deal through the website companies? Roger Davey

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRAngryorPleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Rusell Hotel and played the Old Course. What a great experience on both ends. This was our second time at the Russell and for very good reason. The accommodations are very European, very clean, and comfortable. The food, however, was off the charts. Fine dining at its best. The chef prepares a plethora of fantastic appetizers and entrees that made us question which was better, the golf or the food. The service and family atmosphere were unmatched. What a great place to stay. I am sure we will be back again ... and again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I traveled with three people including Chris B who also reviewed this hotel on Tripadvisor.

Over all impression: Awesome! It became a second home for us while we golfed there. The whole experience in St Andrews was so rewarding and I think this "home" was a large factor.

Food. We had breakfast and dinner everyday as part of our package and it was excellent, good menu with daily creative specials.

The room. It was to be expected for a hotel of this age and type, an old converted house or boarding house. The shower was hot, the cleaning staff timely and thorough. I shared a room with two single beds and the only real complaint would be the mattress, it was ready for retirement.

Trip management. The hotel Administrator booked our tee times, forwarded payments, guided us in decisions and especially a ballot tee time for the Old Course. We booked a total of 5 tee times at 4 courses and did not have a single challenge with the prepayments and tee times.

Location. It is covered all over this site, it is excellent. Parking on the street was available while we were there mid June.

Service. Above and beyond from Gordon welcoming us upon arrival, Andrew busting our chops at the bar, bad coffee karma events, Helen and Julie keeping the boys inline during dinner was the highlight every night.

I can't say enough positive things about the trip and the people of Scotland.

My Only Caution: This is an old building in an old town with a deep and rich history, if you are expecting the fairmont, there is one there use it. IF you want to walk a block to the home of golf live in the town, enjoy the wonderful local people then this is your place.

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the ocean facing rooms, the view is something else. Two of the other golfers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were staying further up the scores and found this hotel which served very good value food -bar staff were very helpful and even let us book a table for the next night. Many thanks to Alex who was obliging and very helpful - a real asset to the hotel. Beer and wine on offer was very good and served with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing