We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for Golf”
Review of The Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel for Golf”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from a golf trip to St. Andrews. 16 of us arrived on Saturday afternoon and the hotel was excellent. The rooms are very basic but how long do you actually spend in them when you're on a golf trip?

Beds were very comfortable, showers could do with a bit more power but that would be my only complaint and one of our party not keeping up one floor with his loud snoring

All staff are very friendly and had to put up with 16 drunk men on a regular basic which they did very well and with an excellent attitude.

Would definitely be going back to St Andrews at some point and if there are rooms I'll be staying back here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k33wud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
107
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie,Lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a lovely friendly hotel. We were in room 10 which overlooked the sea and beautiful coast of St Andrews. Apparently room 11 has better views as it's on the corner of the hotel but we couldn't complain. Dinner in the small but nicely organised restaurant was terrific!! Breakfast was also served in the restaurant with plenty of choice. The bar area with large fire place was very welcoming and cosy. The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. In fact one of the girls (Lizzie) is very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and can give you plenty of ideas of where to visit. The cost for an overnight stay plus evening meal and breakfast was £164.00.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftysomething58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with an itison voucher and was well impressed. Room was not huge and layout was a bit quirky but for a building this age that was fine. Everything was clean and well presented. Highlight was the restaurant, meal was first class and could not be faulted. Wine list was extensive and not over priced. Location is fantastic, will have no hesitation in returning and the sooner the better!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bgang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our group of four adults and one grumpy 2 year old stopped off at this hotel for a pub lunch one rainy, cold day in St Andrews.

The staff welcomed us and went to great efforts to make sure we had all we needed for our 2 year old. Although they didn't have a specific kids menu or any changing facilities we were not made to feel that we were being a burden. Our toddler's food was brought out as soon as it was ready, slightly before all the adult food was ready. A highchair was found for her to sit in, and she was fussed over and smiled at by all the staff.

To a parent, this makes such a huge difference to a day out. Thank you so much to the staff in the bar of the Russell Hotel.

To top it all off the food was lovely and I would definitely eat there again.

We arrived in that bar, cold, tired and hungry and left feeling 100% better. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeeandbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just had a two night break@ The Hotel which was very pleasant.
The proprietors (Gordon&Fiona) & staff (Alex,Lizzie etc) were lovely and eager to please. The Food & Accommodation (room 11) were Excellent.
Many Thanks to you all for giving us such a lovely stay,we will have no hesitation in booking your hotel again.











  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock, scotland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just back from my second trip to this hotel and again I can't find fault with this lovely wee place. I bought the deal through Itison and it was great value. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and the location of the hotel is great for exploring St Andrews. When this deal pops up again I will have no hesitation in buying it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Another great deal with Itison, nice small hotel on The scores overlooking the beach and golf course. Good room, no 5 the best room, with a great view, we relaxed with a cuppa and watched the horses being exercised on the beach in the morning, very smart bathroom. dinner was included in this deal, which was excellent, Blazing fire in the dining room, so lovely and cosy, could easily eat there again.... good atmosphere, friendly staff. we were lucky with weather, first day dry and second day was lovely and sunny.... hoping for this deal again in February so we can go again for my birthday.....

Room Tip: room no 5 and the room above, would have excellent views over the beach and dunes and golf courses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews
The Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing