We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in St Andrews”
Review of The Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little Gem in St Andrews”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice little hotel on the Scores in St Andrews. The rooms are nice and comfortable. I would recommend booking a seaview for the extra cost , its worthwhile. The bar is nice and has some great characters working and passing through. Would loved to have spent longer there but will be back.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICT_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    80
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
105
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night recently in a seaside view room. Great views from the second floor and gentle breeze was refreshing. Gordon's team which included Sophia and Alex were very friendly and accommodating. The small bar is great and has a wide selection of scotch and is the place to be If you like hearty food, and good stories. We had reservations next door at the Hazelbank and unfortunately had to stay there for two nights. This was a far better place to stay and better value for the money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we didn't actually stay in the hotel just spent time in the bar and restaurant. We stopped in for drink on a wet blustery afternoon well before the restaurant opened for dinner. One turned into a few and we stayed and had supper. Had fun with the bartender and in no time the restaurant was open so we just sat and ate in the bar. Normal pub food but well worth it.

The next night we even got to sit outside on their little patio and watch the sun start to go down. This time we had dinner in the restaurant, the food and the service were excellent, well worth the money, we had to have one more drink in the bar before we left.

Room Tip: In a lot of places the kitchens close in the afternoon for 3-4 hrs before reopening for supper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros: Fine small seaside hotel near the R&A. Good pub and breakfast. Close to everything. Had a very good makeover in the bathrooms. Rooms like a view are worth it on a rainy day. Very good value but call in advance.
Cons: No lift. Parking could be a problem at peak times of the year.

Room Tip: The rooms like a view are worth it on a rainy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from a golf trip to St. Andrews. 16 of us arrived on Saturday afternoon and the hotel was excellent. The rooms are very basic but how long do you actually spend in them when you're on a golf trip?

Beds were very comfortable, showers could do with a bit more power but that would be my only complaint and one of our party not keeping up one floor with his loud snoring

All staff are very friendly and had to put up with 16 drunk men on a regular basic which they did very well and with an excellent attitude.

Would definitely be going back to St Andrews at some point and if there are rooms I'll be staying back here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k33wud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie,Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a lovely friendly hotel. We were in room 10 which overlooked the sea and beautiful coast of St Andrews. Apparently room 11 has better views as it's on the corner of the hotel but we couldn't complain. Dinner in the small but nicely organised restaurant was terrific!! Breakfast was also served in the restaurant with plenty of choice. The bar area with large fire place was very welcoming and cosy. The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. In fact one of the girls (Lizzie) is very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and can give you plenty of ideas of where to visit. The cost for an overnight stay plus evening meal and breakfast was £164.00.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftysomething58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with an itison voucher and was well impressed. Room was not huge and layout was a bit quirky but for a building this age that was fine. Everything was clean and well presented. Highlight was the restaurant, meal was first class and could not be faulted. Wine list was extensive and not over priced. Location is fantastic, will have no hesitation in returning and the sooner the better!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bgang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
475 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
361 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews
The Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing