We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
181
96
22
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
96
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison family run hotel large bay cullen skink bar meals itison voucher mussels cosy bar golf package golfers and non golfers lovely lunch small hotel sea view charming hotel excellent location continental breakfast a wee bit
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

The Russell Hotel has been perfect for our group of 4 couples. It is a quaint hotel that truly encompasses the feeling of being in St. Andrews and the location is so convenient to everything. The view from our room of the North Sea is spectacular. The staff and service have been EXCELLENT! Thank you Emma, Grant, Levi, Monica for making our stay so perfect. Compliments to the chef, as the food in both the bar and restaurant have been outstanding. Hopefully we will get the chance to come back and stay again soon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We had a great visit to Scotland to play golf and the experience with the hotel has been exceptional from start to finish.

We booked the hotel golf package for 5 nights, to guarantee 2 rounds at St Andrews including the old course and the hotel management arranged everything including tee off times and golf bookings. They also helped arrange the golf bookings with the other courses we played during our stay and booking restaurants at other venues in St Andrews.

Service was exceptional and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay, whether this was in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner or in the bar during the evening.

They also have a television in the bar so convenient given the US Open and World Cup were showing during our stay.

We had breakfast each day and a3 course dinner in the evenings. The food was fantastic and we also had the flexibility of the bar menu or the restaurant menu, including daily specials. All 4 of us enjoyed every meal and every course that we had.

The rooms are basic but spacious and clean and we had a great sea view that overlooked the courses at St Andrews.

A great time staying at the hotel and would definitely come here again next time we visit.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the bay windows and sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Russell Hotel for just one night but very pleased with the experience. This place is definitely old school with no computer in sight and a hand written register, walk up to the rooms and small restaurant. Room was small but plenty comfortable with a decent sized bathroom. The key for me is the staff. Helpful and friendly. Liam at the hotel and Fiona online before we arrived took care of any questions we had. The restaurant over delivered with a great meal paired with a great wine at a great price. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wrock14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Our second visit to this hotel . WiFi sorted thanks very much!! This time we had the lovely room 5 for 2 nights and were then moved to room 7 . Room 5 has amazing views of he sea and 2 lovely armchairs to sit on whilst watching the world go by . Room 7 is smaller but just as comfy with a side view of the small church and other buildings . Both beds are extremely comfy . Shower in room 7 better than room 5 . Our daughter was in room 4 a budget room with no view but she was happy engine with the comfy bed . Staff helpful cleaners extremely hard working . This is by far the cheapest hotel on The scores and it’s great

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank karenb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect location close to town and the Old Course Clubhouse. We stayed 2 nights and received a warm welcome and from there it only got better. Our charming waitress brought us drinks in the bar and offered us a table in the restaurant. We had a look and were sold on the quaint room but we also got the offer of a private room for our group. The food was top class and impressive for a small hotel. They even gave us split starters as we could not decide between Cullen Skink and oysters. Both were great! The rooms are small but perfectly fine for heads down on a busy 2 day trip. Last year we visited St Andrews and stayed at the Premier Inn. No comparison - next year we will be back to the Russell. Give it a try, you won’t regret it!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank RichardR4965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews