We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool boutique in an excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Du Vin
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool boutique in an excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel décor -- in the rooms and the excellent common spaces/bar/restaurant -- was the perfect mix of quirky/trendy modern spun with classic old-style overstuffed leather. Room was modestly sized, but had a very high ceiling, and all in all was very comfortable. Nice modern bathroom too. High marks on all these points.

Of course, the location can't be beat, right on the Scores and walking distance to everything St. Andrews has to offer.

Lastly, we found the service to be very good. Helpful bellman took our heavy suitcases up and showed us around the hotel, and then the next morning when we slept in and missed breakfast, the staff graciously re-opened the kitchen and allowed us to order and eat in the bar atrium. Food was good, albeit a bit over priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudeboy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Niall Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    119
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
88
234
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely, stylish hotel with great service and staff, Standard room was small for the price (though to be fair we were waned about how small it was). Really good breakfast with lots of great choices and very good quality food. Would definitely go back but try a larger room. Have scored room based on our room but am sure it would be higher if we were in larger room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Niall Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin St Andrews for 4 days over our wedding weekend. I would most certainly recommend this hotel.
We spent the first two nights in a standard room and the second two in the junior suite called Highland Park (all the rooms appear to be named after single malt whiskies). The standard room was nice and I did not find it to be small as some other reviewers have noted. A couple of downsides were the view of the extension which was still very much a work in progress (think builders overlooking your room at 8.30am when you might be trying to get dressed) and the lack of air conditioning making the room quite hot.
The suite was another matter - large so lack of air con less of an issue, and with a wonderful view over West Sands and the sea. Particularly recommended is ordering breakfast to the room and enjoying it while taking in the view and wearing the hotel provided dressing gowns!
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and we particularly appreciated the decoration on the bed when we arrived home late at night/early in the morning after our wedding!
We enjoyed the breakfasts and one evening meal in the buffet. The cooked breakfast choices were all very tempting and the croissants, pain au chocolat and baked eggs were all lovely! There was a decent choice of wine at dinner, and some very good single malts in the bar.
While we were there, the extension work seemed to mean there was no dedicated parking. But on-street parking close to the hotel was very easy.
All in all: lack of air-con wasn't great and a bit of a surprise in a newly refurbished hotel. But excellent junior suite and lovely staff more than made up for it! Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if it is hot. Junior suite called Highland Park particularly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Niall Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Du Vin. The rooms are recently redone in hip fashion. Bathrooms are a bit small but the most is made of the available space. The property is right up the street from The Old Course and also sits on the edge of University of St. Andrews. Our room happened to overlook the North Sea which was awesome.
Great service and restaurant as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at Hotel du Vin St Andrews.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the stunning views we have here at the hotel overlooking the famous West Sands beach from our bedrooms and Bistro.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yarmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very helpful friendly staff! The rooms were a wee bit small but the staff made you quickly forget that. The meals were the best we had in our stay and Suzzane, Collin , Chris and Paul were always near to make our every wish their command. Local tips flowed. We were made to feel like friends and they quickly became ours. Don't know how the service could have been better!

Room Tip: If you're golfing or walking about this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traktrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel du Vin St Andrews.

We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service to our guests, and being able to assist with local recommendations to help enhance your experience within St Andrews.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and bistro very soon.

Kind Regards,

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-June and loved it. The hotel was recently renovated and it is beautiful. Great location right on the ocean and next to the old course. The standard rooms are really small but nicely decorated, with a large sleigh bed, which takes up a lot of space. Difficult to navigate the room. There is a large, modern bathroom, which has a rain showerhead. The room windows actually open. I believe many rooms have an ocean view. Our view was of a little courtyard and trees, which I enjoyed. The breakfast is amazing; better than any hotel breakfast I've had. If you are from the US, watch out for the black pudding; I don't recommend it (blood pudding)! Staff very friendly and helpful, cute bar and outdoor patio. Well located, especially if you are planning on golfing. St. Andrews University is a couple of blocks down the street.

My only complaint, and its a big one, is that the rooms are VERY HOT. It happened to be unusually warm weather in Scotland during our stay and the room have no air-conditioning and remained very hot. We kept our room door open and the window open in order to cool the room down (obviously not when we were sleeping!).

Room Tip: The rooms are very hot and the standard rooms are very small, with a large sleigh bed. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the time with us at Hotel du Vin, St Andrews - the whole team work ever so hard being able to provide the great levels of service that are expected - and always seem to do so with a smile.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon
Kind regards,
Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a newly modernised hotel in the Scores St Andrews.
The new décor is tastefully done with black wooden floors to most rooms and public areas. Our suite on the first floor overlooked St Andrews bay and aquarium must have the best room in the hotel. The suite was very large with high ceilings and modern en suite bathroom with a slip free slate tile shower floor. A huge flat TV screen was welcome as the room is so large.
All the staff were super friendly and helpful.
The outdoor bar at the rear of the hotel was a nice touch as was the sun-room bar.
Food at both breakfast and dinner was only adequate and not worthy of such a fine hotel. There are plenty of alternative dining venues in the vicinity.
The access when we stayed was not suitable for disabled guests as there is a flight of steps to get to the front door (the disabled access has not been completed and the car park for disabled guests at the rear of the hotel is nowhere near finished)

Room Tip: Try for a room/suite overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at Hotel du Vin St Andrews.

The hotel has recently undergone a £3.5 million refurbishment, and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Our executive suites in particular are stunning and have wonderful views across to the West Sands beach.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Why not take advantage of our outdoor bar area again, and enjoy our light summer dishes on our Al Fresco menu?

Kind Regards,

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Vin

Property: Hotel Du Vin
Address: 40 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland (Formerly St. Andrews Golf Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel Du Vin St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing