We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a lovely weekend”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a very relaxing weekend in comfort. There was a problem I think in the Sands kitchen on Friday evening but it was dealt with by waving the wine fee. The staff are terrific & nothing is too much trouble. Comfort & cleanliness are first class. Excellent spa facilities. Despite the designer interiors I would like a little more light in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
246
802
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I have stayed at The Old Course many times and it just gets better & better every time!
From our very friendly welcome glass of bubbles on arrival to our cheery farewell at the end, every aspect was just perfect. The staff are friendly but discreet, always there just when you need them. Our "old course suite" was superb and I do love the Kohler bathrooms...
Thank you for a wonderful birthday treat :-)

Room Tip: Old Course Facing rooms are a must (unless you're planning on hardly being in the room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraKobiolke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

It could not be better!
EVERYTHING you expect from a 5 star hotel and then some.

Location -- perfection. 2 minute walk to the main cute town of Saint Andrews. On the beach, so you can stoll on it. Great views, whether of the town, the golf course or the beach.

Service-- Simply amazing, very polite. The concierge would walk you when you asked for directions in the hotel.

Pub/Restaurants-- There is a great, cute old (very old and historic) pub attached to the hotel, with outdoor seating on the golf course. So cute and so convenient. Great ham and cheese sandwiches. The hotel also has 2 nice restaruants inside.

Spa/Gym -- Wow! A real gym, with weights, cardio machines, and with spinning and other classes. A real full-service spa.

Really a special place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have just spent a lovely night (Saturday 19th Nov) at The Old Course Hotel with my boyfriend. It was a wonderful experience. The concierge's have to be mentioned as they are the first impression of the hotels guest services and they give a truly special start to the experience. The concierge on duty when we arrived at 3.30 came to the car to welcome us and carried our bag into the reception and introduced us to the receptionist (nice personal touch). We were offered a drink & orientation of the hotel and taken to our room by a very nice lady. We had a beautiful, spacious room (standard I think as we payed £200 and booked only a week in advance). We were at the front of the hotel and so didn't have a view of the golf course but we weren't expecting to be that lucky with booking so late). The bathroom was small but had the deepest bath I have ever seen, it was huge!! We took full advantage of it and had a bath in the afternoon and also when we got back at night!! The bed was huge and very comfy with lots of pillows. A turn down service also popped in when we were out and put bottled water by the beds and changed the towels. The room was very warm though and we couldn't alter the thermostat to cooler so had to turn on the overhead fan which helped cool us down. Should have opened the window but assumed they didn't open until I realised they did in the morning. We popped into the 4th floor bar after returning from dinner in St Andrews and it was a lovely way to relax and chill out before bed. Breakfast was also as expected and was delicious. The only critisism though there was that as I am dairy intolerent I asked for a butter substitute and the waitress seemed surprised by my request but offered to find out if there was flora or similar but never returned so I had dry toast. Overall though, it was a fantastic stay and I can't wait to return for a special occasion and hopefully get a room with a view of the golf course. I highly recommend a stay here as it truly is 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDFART40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this lux hotel in early September and it was more than we expected. Teh food and service were top drawer as were the rooms. Pure luxury with a great vivew of the golf course. Keep in mind that you cannot reserve a tee time for gold but you can reserve a tea time for a sip of Earl Grey and a scone. I give this one a thumbs up, but keep in mind that it is pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgbanderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We went as a special treat. First Impression of the hotel and staff were great but they were understaffed especially on the Sunday of our stay. We waited ages for a table(views were worth wait) but disappointing breakfast which definitely wasn't cooked to order as it said on menu..We were given the dregs from the buffet. Wonderful hotel with great views and welcome and Spa but very sloppy service and thoughtlessness of front desk spoiled a perfect weekend. I called down on Sunday morning to ask if they had feminine Hygiene products and was told to come to reception!!!! Why would I have called reception I called so I didn't have to go down!....Would have been thoughtful of Katie to have sent something up! Thats what one expects from a five star hotel........

Room Tip: Lovely Spa. Rooms over Golf Course Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergiethehottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCourseHotel, Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Old Course Hotel. We endeavour to offer our guests a service that is as close to perfect as possible so I am very sorry to learn of your breakfast experience. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed to our Food & Beverage Director to assist us with our ongoing training needs.

I am sorry that you were asked to come to reception when you contacted us for assistance on the Sunday morning. I am unable to check why this was the case as the Receptionist that assisted you was a seasonal member of staff, but I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your feedback I and do hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

With kind regards,

Daniel Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed at the Old Course Hotel before and would still rate this as being one of the very best, however I found it disappointing that our bed was two single beds pushed together, which left an uncomfortable seam down the middle...Not the first 5 star hotel to try this trick , otherwise a very good hotel . I would still recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitsthisnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing