We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveller rating
1,429
265
116
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
265
116
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road hole restaurant jigger inn sands grill fourth floor eden room the rooftop hot tub fairway suite thermal suite on arrival deep bath glass of prosecco hams hame first class afternoon tea upgraded to a suite moment you arrive pro shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,533 - 1,538 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I returned to this hotel after a gap of about 10 years feeling a little apprehensive. There was no need. The new American owners have not only invested in fixtures and fittings, but also in possibly the best trained and friendliest staff I have come across in Scotland. This iconic hotel is in safe hands and truely worthy of its 5 star status.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the Old Course and sea.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

First night away from our 3 babies who are 3 and twins at 2 years old (well earned). The staff could not have been more helpful, champagne and canapés to our room pre-dinner (nice touch) and the tasting menu in the restaurant was superb! breakfast was delicious and had everything you could imagine on the menu. Husband enjoyed some golf and I enjoyed a nice wander round the very beautiful town of st Andrews. Would most definitely return for another stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-g07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Old Course Hotel is the perfect golf destination. Besides being in the heart of Scottish golf it offers wonderful accommodations, outstanding food, and relaxing spa treatments. The short stroll into St. Andrews allows views of gophers and the town. There are darling streets to wander around for shopping, dining, pub time and sightseeing. The hotel really offers a perfect place for a holiday.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel. I can not fault the hotel on any level. After wonderful golf on the old course we tried out the spa. It was simply out of this world. All the muscle aches and pains of five straight rounds of golf dissapeared within minutes of being in the spa. Ideally located, we consider to stay only in the old course hotel on our next golf trip. Well done!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kitesurfer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel and hopefully it won't be our last. The hotel itself is stunning and beautifully decorated and the location speaks for itself. Our 22 month old son was fussed over by the staff much to his delight and the luxury kids package which we'd booked provided us with excellent amenities for him. We did have to ask for a bath robe for him, and although at first they didn't think they had one small enough, when we returned from a walk we found a fluffy white robe for him in his cot. We were staying in a deluxe suite and it was beautiful, with 2 lovely balconies and fantastic views across the course - I especially enjoyed lounging on the chaise longue in front of the windows gazing out at the golfers and over to the beach. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided champagne and canapés to help us celebrate which was a lovely touch as was the personalised welcome card from the Manager. It's these little touches which makes such a difference. Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice. We dined twice in Sands and thoroughly enjoyed everything we had - especially the pork rib starter. Our son was provided with crayons to keep him occupied while we finished our meal. We used the pool during 'splash time' which we all enjoyed, although I do agree with a previous reviewer that it is a spa, and not everyone who uses the facilities during this time (3-5 pm) appreciates young children encroaching on their pamper time - the non-mummy part of me understands this although we did have a great time splashing around. The only issue we had with the hotel was actually after we'd checked out - the hotel put a 'hold' on money in our bank account (as is standard practice), however, after settling our bill, they did not release the 'held' cash - effectively double-charging us. When we noticed, we brought it to their attention and it was promptly dealt with, with the offer of an upgrade the next time we stay - an offer we hope to take up fairly soon! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hotel that goes just that little bit extra - yes, it is expensive, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if it's a special occasion.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDGALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews