We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfer's dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 3 days at this hotel on the Majestic Golfing Package and had an all-round exceptional experience. The hotel staff are very professional and friendly, particularly the golf concierge. The views over the old course from the level 4 restaurant and bar are spectacular, matched by the quality food and wines on offer. This is definitely THE place to stay in St Andrews for a golfing holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

I returned to this hotel after a gap of about 10 years feeling a little apprehensive. There was no need. The new American owners have not only invested in fixtures and fittings, but also in possibly the best trained and friendliest staff I have come across in Scotland. This iconic hotel is in safe hands and truely worthy of its 5 star status.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the Old Course and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

First night away from our 3 babies who are 3 and twins at 2 years old (well earned). The staff could not have been more helpful, champagne and canapés to our room pre-dinner (nice touch) and the tasting menu in the restaurant was superb! breakfast was delicious and had everything you could imagine on the menu. Husband enjoyed some golf and I enjoyed a nice wander round the very beautiful town of st Andrews. Would most definitely return for another stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-g07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Old Course Hotel is the perfect golf destination. Besides being in the heart of Scottish golf it offers wonderful accommodations, outstanding food, and relaxing spa treatments. The short stroll into St. Andrews allows views of gophers and the town. There are darling streets to wander around for shopping, dining, pub time and sightseeing. The hotel really offers a perfect place for a holiday.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel. I can not fault the hotel on any level. After wonderful golf on the old course we tried out the spa. It was simply out of this world. All the muscle aches and pains of five straight rounds of golf dissapeared within minutes of being in the spa. Ideally located, we consider to stay only in the old course hotel on our next golf trip. Well done!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kitesurfer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel and hopefully it won't be our last. The hotel itself is stunning and beautifully decorated and the location speaks for itself. Our 22 month old son was fussed over by the staff much to his delight and the luxury kids package which we'd booked provided us with excellent amenities for him. We did have to ask for a bath robe for him, and although at first they didn't think they had one small enough, when we returned from a walk we found a fluffy white robe for him in his cot. We were staying in a deluxe suite and it was beautiful, with 2 lovely balconies and fantastic views across the course - I especially enjoyed lounging on the chaise longue in front of the windows gazing out at the golfers and over to the beach. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided champagne and canapés to help us celebrate which was a lovely touch as was the personalised welcome card from the Manager. It's these little touches which makes such a difference. Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice. We dined twice in Sands and thoroughly enjoyed everything we had - especially the pork rib starter. Our son was provided with crayons to keep him occupied while we finished our meal. We used the pool during 'splash time' which we all enjoyed, although I do agree with a previous reviewer that it is a spa, and not everyone who uses the facilities during this time (3-5 pm) appreciates young children encroaching on their pamper time - the non-mummy part of me understands this although we did have a great time splashing around. The only issue we had with the hotel was actually after we'd checked out - the hotel put a 'hold' on money in our bank account (as is standard practice), however, after settling our bill, they did not release the 'held' cash - effectively double-charging us. When we noticed, we brought it to their attention and it was promptly dealt with, with the offer of an upgrade the next time we stay - an offer we hope to take up fairly soon! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hotel that goes just that little bit extra - yes, it is expensive, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if it's a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDGALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had a room overlooking the golf course and the sea. Amazing views. Great beds, the Kohler spa tub was wonderful!! We ate in all the restaurants, food was great!!! We did the half day spa experience, outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twalsh0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £129 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing