We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow-Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the hotel over Friday and Saturday night. Greeted warmly with glass fizzy wine on arrival. Check in smooth and quick.
Room allocated to us was lovely, huge bed and plenty of nice touches..magazines, flat screen tv.
Bathroom was beautiful with excellent fittings and biggest bath ever!
All food we had was very good, the burgers in jigger inn are enormous and the seafood platter in sands restaurant was huge and so worth the cost!
Champagne cocktails well made and potent but pricey, although reflective of 5 star prices!
Breakfast has buffet style and also ordering specialist items from al la carte, I had eggs benedicte one morning and they were perfect!
I enjoyed the spa (while my partner golfed) although it's expensive!! £113 for a massage is pricey, however it was 80 mins and it was superb!! I don't like that hotel automatically charges 10% service charge, I'm happy to leave something but not £11!! We also enjoyed the roof top hot tub, even though it was a freezing cold day.. The tub was very toasty!
We really enjoyed our first stay at the old course and we will def return!
My only gripe is that on entering the spa I wasn't properly given an orientation or the fob needed to access the thermal area..I had to work that out for myself and return to reception, however it doesn't deter from a super mini break.. Ps views are gorgeous

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingplaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
246
802
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Wow, amazing in every respect.  The location is stunning and the welcome warm and friendly. The accommodation just blew us away.  Our suite was incredibly well designed with very high quality furnishings, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean.  The staff's knowledge of their product and their guests was of an unbelievably high standard and contributed to our far too short but unforgettable weekend of pure luxury.  Everyone was incredibly friendly and could not do enough to make our stay "perfect" which it certainly was.  We ate in the Road Hole Restaurant and the food was outstanding in quality, range of choice, originality, preparation and presentation.  Waiting staff were most very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly – nothing too much trouble. The Spa – what an experience!  A most beautiful and serene and welcoming place to relax, unwind and generally chill out.  Again, extremely friendly and helpful staff and probably the widest choice of facilities I have seen included in the room rate. The whole experience was just “heavenly”, can’t wait to return at some time in the future.
 

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Travelling_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I don't often review, but really... this is not acceptable. We left our room at 10.30 am... returned at 4pm, to find it had not been serviced. Excuse..."we are busy" oh come on.... All hotels are busy, but never ever have we experienced this. The trolley was outside our room when we left.. and still there when we came back.
Please just say, okay we c**ed up...
i love this hotel,and we were so pleased to be coming back but but will hesitate abut coming back again. I don't ask for clean sheets and towels every day but oh dear... Old Course you have let yourself down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Old Course Hotel.

I understand your disappointment concerning the timescale in servicing your bedroom. We do our utmost to ensure that bedrooms are cleaned with minimal disruption to all our guests, unfortunately during extremely busy periods we provide service until 4.30pm.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused to your stay with us and I hope that the remainder of your stay met your expectations

Kind regards,

Daniel Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the hotel. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to a suite overlooking the Old Course. What a good start. The staff were all extremely polite and friendly but not in an overboard way. Nothing was too much bother. They all appeared to enjoy their work. All hotel areas were clean, neat and tidy. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. A definate for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

a truly 5 star luxury.go there if you want to be absolutely pampered.extremely friendly staff,an out of the world dining experience. amazing breakfast,stunning views across the golf course and sea
highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VineethEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in One of the Suites and it was magnificent . What more can I say ... But apparently I have to write at least 200 characters. Have stayed in some nice places but this (room especially) beats them all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, a birthday/anniversary celebration, we were made very welcome, the service was excellent. Overall we had a fantastic time, hopefully we will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing