We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$147
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,771)
Filter reviews
1,771 results
Traveller rating
1,371
248
108
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
248
108
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad hole restaurantjigger innsands grillfourth flooreden roomrooftop jacuzzithermal suitefairway suiteon arrivaldeep bathglass of proseccohams hamehot tubafternoon teafirst classupgraded to a suitemoment you arrive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,356 - 1,361 of 1,771 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay over Christmas at this wonderful hotel where our every wish was catered for. The room, Eden Suite, was very spacious and the bathroom had a wonderfully deep spa bath and three showers in total. For my husband who was in wheelchair the shower had had a special chair placed in it and a grab handle attached to the wall. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything we required was there. My husband fell out of his wheelchair (no, he wasn't over imbibing!) and two stalwart gentlemen appeared almost immediately to help him back into it.
Dinner on out first evening was excellent with delightful staff in the restaurant and Christmas lunch was well served although it may be that we chose badly by sticking to a traditional Christmas lunch.
It was a delight to come across a well trained staff who were very friendly without being familiar. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We now have an annual visit to the Old Course Hotel for my husbands birthday but we were lucky enough to have another cheeky overnight stay with friends through a fantastic itison offer.
First time we have stayed in an Eden room and although you don't have the same views as you do with an Old Course room our suite they are still very luxurious and nice to look over towards the practice ranges and of course out of the front of the hotel.
Meal in "Sands" was once again exceptional and once we retired to the Road Hole Bar we had a lovely relaxing drink in wonderful surroundings.
Can't wait to return in April.....

Room Tip: If you are planning on spending time in your room then go for an Old Course room our Suite, if not the Eden is just as luxurious....
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoben2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I would like to thank all the staff for the excellent service during our recent Internet deal short break.The hotel was busy with couples like us who perhaps wouldn't patronise expensive establishments and all of the staff we met were extremely helpful, saying they were glad to see the hotel busy in the low season.Those hotels whom I have read have not treated budget break guests well need to follow the example set by the Old Course; special offers benefit visitors and businesses; The Old Course sold 1000 special breaks via Itison. From this everyone benefited , including other businesses in St Andrews and Fife.

Room Tip: For a standard room with a good bit of sea view pick 318. From there you can get down the back stairs right to the pool in your robe without going through the hotel lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday at the end of January. We were in an Eden room which had nice views, a comfy superking bed and loads of storage space. The luxurious bathroom had a huge deep bath complete with waterfall tap and two showers.

You can tell it's a cut above your average hotel. The staff can't do enough to help. We asked for a dvd player (which isn't standard in the rooms) and that was no problem at 9pm. We brought our 8 month old son and the hotel were extremely accomodating. He was given a complimentary "Old Course Hotel" teddy (complete with mini robe!), as well as his own special toiletries - baby oil, shampoo and top-to-toe wash. When we took him to the pool the staff, without being asked, brought out a little inflatable to help him enjoy the water. I didn't expect it to be just so child-friendly so I was very impressed.

The health club is amazing - lovely big pool, huge jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and even an outdoor hot-tub. The restaurants are great too. We ate in the Road Hole and Sands restaurant and both were excellent and, again, very accomadating re highchairs, heating up baby milk etc.

I would, without a doubt, recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to St Andrews but I would particularly say that there is no need to worry about bringing a young child to the hotel. They go out of their way to make things as easy and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We returned to this wonderful hotel at New Year for a short relaxing stay. In our opinion it is simply the best hotel in Scotland. From the moment you drive up to the main door and are greeted by the Commissionaire in his Scottish attire you feel that you have arrived at a special place and that you are going to be looked after in style. You alight from your car, it is 'valet parked', your luggage is taken care of and as you walk in to the hotel you are handed a glass of sparkling wine as you check in.

The staff are so courteous and professional, your every wish is their command.

The hotel is luxurious, rooms are very spacious with wonderful views out over the Old Course.
Room service is excellent, food brought in on a special table and delightfully served.
The dining room also has superb views and food, wine and service are all of a very high quality.
The spa is wonderful , both relaxing and invigorating depending on your wish, and the outdoor jacuzzi is worth a visit.

Even a short stay here leaves you feeling relaxed and pampered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the Old Course
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews