We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Buy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We bought this deal with an itison voucher, paying £129 for bed and breakfast. This was apparently half price so seemed like a good deal.
On arrival, after parking in their huge car park we were met at the foyer by the concierge who carried our bags to the reception and later to our room.
We were greeted by the very professional staff, who offered us a glass of prosecco as we waited to be checked in, which took no time at all. Our room was an ‘Eden’ room which faced towards Fife and the car park, which didn’t bother us as it was a particularly unpleasant day so the view was not something we bothered about.
The room was a decent size, with a king size bed, a large flat screen tv, which offered all the sky channels and many more, it also offered complementary movies. The room also had a quality Bose cd/radio and a minibar. The bathroom was compact, but offered a very deep bath and a fantastic power shower. This was complemented with the numerous toiletries and fluffy dressing gowns and slippers.
The spa is very good indeed, it has lovely changing rooms which provide you with dressing gowns, towels and slippers. The spa has a swimming pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tub and plunge pool. There is also a gym, which looks well equipped but we did not try this.
The breakfast was served in the fourth floor restaurant which overlooks the iconic 17th road hole, the views of the course and the west sands really are amazing. The breakfast was superb, with everything you could have wished for including an a la carte menu as well as a help yourself buffet, definitely something for everyone.
Negatives: the hotel is in my opinion getting a bit ‘dated’ the décor is a little drab and doesn’t look to have been updated for a long time. However, it certainly was worth the money we payed for it, but I don’t know if I would be prepared pay the full asking price.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to the golf course view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minstrelbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in a bog standard Eden View. Room was a decent size, giant bath and terrific shower. bed was big and comfy. Breakfast was really excellent, with terrific views over the 17th hole and the beach.

Food for the reception was really excellent, service was always attentive and helpful. Generally tried to accommodate any and all requests.

Ate in the Jigger - great bar food, good beers.

Room Tip: Even the most basic room was lovely, but looking out over the old course and the beach must be lovel...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I had a three day stay here in March. We have regular visits to St Andrews but on this occasion our No 1 choice (The Fairmont) was full so this was a second choice.

On the whole it lived up to its 5* reputation. Reception service on arrival was good – with free drink much appreciated – and with our luggage in our room when we got there.

We had an Eden double (not the sea view side) and it was large with a very comfortable king size bed. Everything worked as it was supposed to. The bathroom was a bit on the small side for us, and the bath/shower combination takes a bit of getting used to with complex controls. We’re tall, so getting into the deep tub was not a problem, but this might pose a problem for shorter people.

Breakfast on the fourth floor restaurant overlooking the golf course and sea was good, with a wide choice of fresh and cooked food, and attentive service.

We prefer dinner in independent restaurants rather than hotels so we ate dinner in several of the very good restaurants up town. There’s such a great selection in St Andrews that you don’t need to put up with the more expensive food, wine and service in the big hotels. Thus we can’t comment on dining at this hotel.

So, how does this hotel compare to the Fairmont? Pretty much on a par we thought. The Old Course wins on location and view – the town is easily within walking distance whereas the Fairmont is several miles out of town – but we thought that the rooms and particularly the bathrooms in the Fairmont are better.

Food, service, comfort and facilities were on a par also but the Fairmont is generally cheaper (with deals). On the whole a tough choice but we think the Fairmont just shades it for overall value for money. But there’s not much in it and we would certainly stay at the Old Course again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmcc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Everything about this hotel is top class. Very warm welcome at check in with complimentary fizz, fantastic views over one of the best locations in Scotland and excellent staff. If I could afford to come back here, I would but unfortunately I think this will be my one and only night at the old course.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What an experience in a beatiful corner of Scotland. Everything about the hotel was amazing - including the staff. There were some obnoxious guests who were very rude to the staff but they handled it well. The breakfast room is on the 4th floor with fabulous views over the golf course and the sea beyond that - breath-taking. The weekend was complimented by a cloudless sky throughout. St Andrews is quaint. We topped it all off with a visit to the antique centre between Dundee and Perth where we had a lovely coffee in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room that overlooks the golf course - we had a room at the front of the hotel...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishMarvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Old Course really is a fantastic hotel. A true 5-star experience. Everything from the lobby through to the room and swimming pools are first rate.

Location - there simply isn't a better location in St Andrews. Pay slightly extra for a view over the sea and golf course and you have one of the best views in Scotland outside your window. Easy walking distance to everything. If you're choice comes down to the Fairmont and the Old Course, in my view the Old Course win hands down because of it's location.

Rooms - everything really is first rate. Comfortable and cosy, without being over the top. The bathrooms are lovely.

Leisure facilities - among the best I've come across in a hotel in the UK. Much better than a lot of 5-star hotels. Plently of space for proper swimming as well as a variety of hydrotherepy pools. The top floor outside jacquzzi is very special - especially on a snowy winters evening!

Dining - while breakfast itself was good, if there was one downside this would be it. We had to wait about 15 minuites to be seated which, while not a complaint, is a bit unusual and a sign that the restaurant isn't big enough for the number of rooms. The breakfast was a buffet - which is standard now even in 5 star hotels but when you're paying hundeds of pounds to stay there it would be better if your breakfast was cooked to order. That being said, they did have some cook to order options if you wanted something specific. We had coffee and lunch in the bar area looking out over the Old Course, which was really nice.

Staff - all very friendly and professional. They answered emails prompty proir to arrival and they rang about a week before our stay to ask what we required. A nice touch. Our room wasn't ready when we arrievd but they took my mobile number so we could wander round St Andrews and get a call when it was ready.

All in all, a really first class hotel. Yes it's expensive, but you feel it's worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amack1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife booked this hotel with a voucher special offer and it gave us the chance to sample one of the best hotels in the country at a rate which was manageable. A good idea from the Hotel as it would have been otherwise deserted in mid winter with most of the clientele all on similar voucher offers. The hotel was everything you hoped it would be and more. Very special welcome with a glass of Prosecco at Reception and escorted to the magnificant bedrooms. We dined in the Jigger Inn next door but part of the hotel and had the best burger ever. Breakfast was a wondrous experience with breathtaking views over the 1st/18th fairways of the Old Course. A truly special place. Just one downside......when talking to the concierge he did make a point of stating that since the hotel commenced with their special voucher offers, he had noticed a distinct change in the standard of clientele!!! Not exactly what one wants to hear and a little short sighted to my mind! However that slight aside, it was an excellent experience and one which I will repeat....despite what the concierge thinks!!"

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the Spa and rooftop jacuzzi! Fabulous.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £179 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing