We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night here to celebrate my birthday. It was a wonderful experience from the time that we arrived at the main door and were taken to reception to check in. In every instance where we interacted with any member of staff, they just couldn't do enough for us. We received complimentary drinks and canapes in our room and, after finishing our meal in the Sands Grill, I received a birthday cake. 5 Star service in a 5 Star hotel. The room was wonderful and the spa out of this world. Eating our breakfast while watching golfers playing down the second fairway of the Old Course was unique! Fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anderson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel with my husband and had an absolutely fantastic experience: service across all areas of hotel second to none. Food of a very high standard, especially breakfast. Complimentary champagne and chocolates available in reception. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite overlooking the 17th tee (room 168) with fantastic sea views. Great location about 10 minutes walk from town centre. Have stayed at numerous five star hotels around the world and can honestly say this has been the best. Very enjoyable and relaxing time. WILL MOST CERTAINLY BE BACK.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Last stayed here in February and it was wonderful having wanted to visit this hotel for years. So promised we would return as soon as we could and this time stayed in a suite having been upgraded.
The same smiling concierge took our bags to our room and we checked in. Exiting the lift the concierge was there to meet us and show us where our room was. That little touch ensures you realise where you are staying.
Entering the room, toilet on the left then a lounge area with sofa and chairs and large television. In front of the large double bay window was the office area then turn right to the bed with its own large television. Passing the bed into the enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath, walk in shower with a standard shower head, a rainfall shower and a 3 spray shower over a seating area.
We had fish and chips in the Jigger Inn and if there are better, we have not yet found them.
Breakfast was taken at a table by the window with 'the view' and the choices were never ending.
This really is a 5 star hotel in every way.

Room Tip: Choose a course view every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had the most wonderful week at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort and Spa. The staff is fantastic and friendly and knowledgeable. While we did tip when they brought the car around, helped with our bags, at the restaurants, etc they never made you feel like the were expecting a tip, which is something I find at other 5 star hotels. They were classy, and the location is unbeatable! We had a beautiful room with a view of the Old Course (I requested it, which they cannot guarantee, but we got it!) I can't say enough good things. The library is beautiful and so relaxing after a day of golf. We played Strathtyrum and the Dukes course (which will get their own reviews, but in short THE DUKES IS NOT TO BE MISSED!! Make sure you play it!! It's a gorgeous interesting course that I don't think gets enough attention because it's so close to the St. Andrew's Links Courses.) Anyway - back to the hotel, the rooms were so clean, the best so comfortable. The cleaning staff that is walking around are very pleasant, and I love and appreciate the tremendously generous breakfast provided every morning to the hotel guests. That was a highlight for us from ease of knowing where to eat, to the tasty a la carte options that are also included with the buffet. I will miss this place and hope we can return soon.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a view of Old Course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBecca67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Fantastic hotel, from arriving at the front door it is clear that you are somewhere special. Rooms are lovely and the bath is like a lake in the rain, never bathed in a tub so deep! A lovely stay, not our first and certainly won't be our last.

Thank Jojoshols
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a first class hotel, beautiful surroundings and mostly friendly and helpful staff, however, the only negative I could say was the doorman at he entrance was somewhat grumpy and rude and not what you would expect of a hotel of this calibre. I would prefer to leave by another exit from hotel rather than have to encounter this particular doorman. Other than that it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaB1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel, my wife and I were sure that we had arrived at our second home.The service and attentiveness given by the front desk was impecible, the room was great and what was to have been a one night stay, turned into a 3 night stay. A little expensive, but well worth the money.

Room Tip: Call reservations at the hotel and ask if there are any special rates for the time you would be stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £129 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing