We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing trip”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Recent visit was mixed. Made very welcome on arrival and offered to be shown to room, but having been before we were happy to go to room on our own. However, there was a very obvious damp smell in the room on arrival so we called reception. Housekeeping arrived and offered to spray the area, but we declined and asked for another room. Housekeeping advised there were no rooms but offered to check. The lady who checked us in at reception then arrived and took us to a suite on the same floor. Have to say above expectations and good customer service though room should have been checked by housekeeping and given the all clear prior to our arrival.
As other writers have said hotel is looking a bit tired, carpets worn in certain areas but staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    213
    96
    23
    17
See reviews for
247
812
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a truly wonderful stay at this hotel with my parents. In describing the cleanliness, space and luxury and relaxed welcoming atmosphere, only superlatives would do.

The only slight reservation would be that my dad found the bed a bit too soft. Other than that, everything was perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Eden suite which was quite perfect and very spacious - sheer luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghCouple2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We are just back from a two night stay at this lovely hotel . We had an Eden room and it was lovely and the bed and pillows made me think of what it might be to sleep on a cloud so soft and relaxing. The breakfast was brilliant buffet or freshly cooked and on both mornings we managed to get a window table overlooking the famous road hole which my wife had to drag me away from each morning. One thing my wife suspected the pancakes were not made to order. Our evening meal was in the downstairs resturant and we had a lovely meal my steak was superb my wife had chicken we both felt the menu could have had a wider choice for a five star hotel . The light chater and golfers stories hummed round the room and filled the air with ambience a wonderful experience. We spent a very relaxing four hours in the spa which again was lovely and the staff as that of the hotel were a credit to the resort . We cant wait until we return as we both felt rejuvinated for our wonderful visit.

Room Tip: we had an eden room which looked out on the car park and playing fields but paying extra for a golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing stay at this hotel. We are getting married at this hotel next year and were delighted to be told upon check in that we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite. Rooms are excellent, spacious with good facilities (iPod docking station, two flatscreen TVs, mini bar and two bathrooms). Staff at the hotel are very attentive and food is delicious. Spa facilities are also very good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielle827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We Stayed here recently and having been to the hotel 4 times before so we couldn't help notice that it is starting to look at bit tired and some areas could maybe do with a makeover.

We were in a fairway suite room number 164 but have to say that it was very difficult to get a good nights sleep as the bed mattress was badly bowed in the middle and very soft so not really what we would expect for a Leading hotel of the world.

Sleep quality is one of the important factors in any hotel and I have stayed in Premier Inns
that have better beds than this for £50 per night.

That said the hotel is in a fantastic location but can't rely on that alone.

Room Tip: Ask to check bed quality before taking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night here to celebrate my birthday. It was a wonderful experience from the time that we arrived at the main door and were taken to reception to check in. In every instance where we interacted with any member of staff, they just couldn't do enough for us. We received complimentary drinks and canapes in our room and, after finishing our meal in the Sands Grill, I received a birthday cake. 5 Star service in a 5 Star hotel. The room was wonderful and the spa out of this world. Eating our breakfast while watching golfers playing down the second fairway of the Old Course was unique! Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anderson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton sc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel with my husband and had an absolutely fantastic experience: service across all areas of hotel second to none. Food of a very high standard, especially breakfast. Complimentary champagne and chocolates available in reception. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite overlooking the 17th tee (room 168) with fantastic sea views. Great location about 10 minutes walk from town centre. Have stayed at numerous five star hotels around the world and can honestly say this has been the best. Very enjoyable and relaxing time. WILL MOST CERTAINLY BE BACK.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing