We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, welcoming staff. Another wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming staff. Another wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and yet again our expectations were exceeded. This "large" hotel successfully creates a "small" hotel feel with a very personal service. All the staff from housekeeping to management are so warm and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable with a luxurious feel and a fine view over the golf course to St Andrews and the coast. The spa facilities are wonderfully relaxing. The breakfast is the best we have ever had, so much choice and so fresh. Thanks to all the staff for their attentiveness and thank you for all those unexpected extras. It is a true delight to return and to be even more impressed than our previous stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueronhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    206
    93
    23
    16
See reviews for
233
782
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was hear for a girlie weekend with my sister. From check in to check out everything was wonderful and the staff very attentive. Fantastic spa treatments and an amzing meal in Sands grill. Infact, one of the best meals I have ever had. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed with friends at this hotel for the "It's About Time" spa package. It's the second time I've stayed at his hotel and as the first visit was fantastic, I arrived with high expectations which were almost all met. The hotel is in excellent condition and very clean. The public areas are very spacious with comfortable seating to relax in. All the staff were amazing and offered excellent customer service.

The bedroom was very comfortable and clean, although the room - particularly the bathroom - was a little on the small side for what I'd expect of a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast in the 5th floor restaurant was lovely with a huge selection of food and drink available.

The hydrotherapy suite and the rooftop jacuzzi were great fun. The entire spa area was very clean. I had a treatment which was very relaxing and completed to a high standard.

Our package included a 3 course dinner in the Sands Grill. I was disappointed to be given a reduced menu choice which fell far short of the selections on the full Sands Grill menu. I assume this was because the meal was included as part of the package. For the price of the package, I don't think it's acceptable to give guests a reduced menu choice. I didn't like any of the starters on the reduced menu and was offered another from the full menu. I was disappointed with my main course and dessert - I didn't feel either were up to the standard of a five star hotel, particularly the Baked Alaska dessert which was very poor.

Despite the disappointment of the Sands Grill, I had a lovely time at the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartan-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to have a two night stay here in October. Check in was quick and efficient with a glass of bubbly thrown in! We were greeted at the door by a lovely doorman, who delivered our luggage to our room before we even managed to get there. He greeted us by name every time we saw him.

Our room overlooked the Old Course, my husband spent most of his time watching the golf! It was well appointed with everything you could need for a pleasant stay. The bed was a bit soft but very comfy. The bathroom was small but clean, with lovely bath products.

Our meal in the Sands restaurant was lovely. The restaurant wasn't busy so it felt very intimate and private as we had a lovely corner table. The meal was lovely, steaks very tasty and well cooked. Room service was also good with a very good choice. Breakfast in the Road Hole was amazing, one of those meals that set you up for the day. In fact it was evening before we even thought about eating again. The choice was fantastic, from full Scottish to waffles and pancakes.

The spa was a dream. I had a wonderful pedicure and a 'soul to sole' treatment which felt amazing. The therapist was very professional and did a terrific job. The pool area was lovely, although the pool was quite cool, I prefer a slightly warmer pool. The jacuzzi, steam room and sauna area was large and extremely relaxing. I have to admit I didn't try the freezing cold plunge pool, that would have been a step too far!!

If you get a chance to stay here, grab it. It's a very relaxed, comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Old Course and the sea, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclaren39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you are travelling from near or far - and trying to decide where to stay in St. Andrews - without question, I would recommend the Old Course Hotel. If you are in the market for a 5 star then this is the one to pick - much better than the Fairmont. The staff at the Old Course have a wonderful manner and the hotel is beautifully decorated. A wonderful stay was had by us all!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Old Course Hotel is simply the most comfortable, well positioned and equipped hotel you could wish to find. The staff are all excellent and the restaurants and room service are all very good. The views from the Road Hole Restaurant and all Old Course View rooms are simply amazing over such a historic and famous sporting venue and up towards the beautiful town. The spa is very well done with a big enough pool to actually swim and a fantastic hydro therapy room with a lovely large spa pool. My wife always has treatments and has never been disappointed. It must be the best hotel in Scotland. We've been four times now and it is always so hard to leave. Going back in February!

Room Tip: Old Course View - it's the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Been to the old course on more than one occasion and love it. This time managed to take advantage of an itison voucher and got a good deal. However when called to book definitely got the impression that voucher business was looked down upon definitely bit of a let down with attitude.
Upon arrival this was not the case , pleasant and professional check-in, loved the touch of being taken directly to room along with glass of fizz. Gorgeous large bedroom, huge bed lots of pillows, beautiful toiletries and huge deep bath, robes and slippers all standard. Tried to book treatment at spa unfortunately there not all therapists are trained in all treatments so was unable to make use of the spa, we did however make use of pool and thermal suite once again small but all you would want. Has lunch at the clubhouse excellent food and the best glass of Shiraz had for ages, staff really pleasant and helpful and very good value. Didn't eat in the hotel that evening as prefer to try some of the good eating places within St Andrews. Another nice touch within hotel is the evening turndown service and the next day itinery - very cruise like. :-) Excellent breakfast lots of choice both from the self service buffet and a la carte menu, and the view from the road hole restaurant is stunning. Can't wait for my next visit .

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a bad room, it would just depend on the view you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
28.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
29.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
29.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
29.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
28.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing