We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

2 night weekend break here. Absolutely brilliant from the moment we parked the car. Rooms fantastic and Roaring Twenties party night on Friday was so good. Lovely meal and a good disco. Evening passed by too quickly.
Fantastic breakfast and staff really attentive but not overbearing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
246
802
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
234 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for one night because of a short visit to Scotland.
Booked a standard room which was very nice. Excellent breakfast like in other LHW.
The views from the hotel over the famous golfcourse are amazing and maybe the best we ever saw. We were very lucky with the weather!! The quality of the food in the restaurant (only 1 was open at the time of our visit) extremely good.
We were a bit disappointed with the small portions. We ordered from the a la carte Menu but the crabsalad was a children's portion and not easy to taste the crab.
Also the sole-although very good quality- but soooo small. No vegetables or didn't we see or taste it!
Soufflé-again small- but wonderful! But.......thanks to the bread we didn't go to bed hungry!

Room Tip: You pay a lot more for a seaview room. We had a room above and next to the entrance which was spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here recently, the hotel itself is beautiful and has some wonderful views. We stayed in a standard room which was great, had a sea view as well which was lovely.

The spa was nice, the outdoor hot tub was amazing, even though it was about -2 degrees outside!!

Staff were absolutely wonderful, and couldn't do enough for us, they were very professional and I have to say the service was absolutely first class.

If I could afford it I'd be back regularly, but it'll maybe just be a special treat for us!!! St. Andrews is lovely to have a walk about too and see the sights.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

As usual this hotel was excellent the staff are very good and are very helpful.

I must admit what really brings us back to this hotel is the spa and swimming pools areas
they are fantastic so relaxing and where in scotland can you sit in an outside jacuzzi in November. The last time we were here we had to get a fob to access certain areas of the spa but on this occasion you can use everything without using the fob.

Our room this time faced the park area and had a balcony (of sorts) which was shared with the room next door, not the best if you don't know the neighbours. The bed was very comfortable
but I did not sleep well as the pillows were to soft for me, maybe I could of requested a different pillow but by the time I went to bed it was to late

We had dinner at the hotel which we enjoyed but my only comment was the menu needs to be changed or more special dishes should be on offer .

We had breakfast in the hotel and we all felt that it seemed not as good as previous experiences I asked for a herbal tea and was given a pot of tea no one gave me a choice and I still do not know what kind of tea I had, eggs benedict were overcooked - all in all not the usual breakfast service.

Will we be back - Yes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19CaroleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at the old course hotel with my girlfriend for a couple of nights in November 2013. The hotel has a traditional feel to it with excellent spa and gym facilities. If travelling as a couple, the Eden rooms (the best rate room type) are more than spacious and clean, and the shower/bath is excellent. The spa has a very long swimming pool (the pictures are not deceptive), large indoor Jacuzzi and a steam/sauna room. Also, the roof top hot tub is very cool!!

The only downside of the hotel was the food. We ate at The Road Hole restaurant on the first night. Although there was many tables available, my girlfriend and I were put in the corner of a big room, with no lighting. It felt like we were eating in the pitch black. On top of this, the portion sizes are TINY so it would be advised to go into the town centre for your dinner (Little Italy was outstanding on our second night). The Jigger Inn, however, is a really lovely little bar with excellent table service.

Overall an excellent couple of nights in the beautiful St Andrews and we would definitely return to the Old Course hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous overnight stay. The spa is just wonderful and all the staff in every part of the hotel could not be more helpful. The room was very spacious and the bed was just so comfortable. The only little thing we found that could be improved upon is the lighting, especially at the bedside. We were both trying to read in bed but just gave up. This is only a minor point and will certainly not put us off from another visit (hopefully very soon!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnamassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Firstly, let me say that all the staff we met were lovely, caring and helpful!! BUT!! We were given a free glass of Prosecco when we arrived and tried to buy another later on in the bar, only to be told that they don’t serve it there - apparently if you want to sparkle there it can only be with champagne at £10 for a 125ml glass! Bedroom lighting not bright enough to read - had to use iphone torch to adjust heating controls. Bath plug did not retain the water! Road Hole Restaurant Restaurant has an open kitchen and the noise of fans etc going on & off was such that it would have been quieter to sit at the end of the nearby RAF Leuchars runway! This was NOT a cheap break and therefore I expected perfection. The Taster Menu dinner (with wines) was reasonably priced and generally good but the Duck breasts were tough - confirmed by another resident on our second night. The lobster starter on our second night was also tough - overcooked! However on both nights the desserts were outstanding so they've definitely got a great pastry chef. We were on a Room only rate but the Breakfast supervisor obviously hadn't heard of such things and advised us, each day, that we could have what we liked as it was all in the Room Rate. Needless to say, it wasn't! We reported all this on leaving and will be interested to see if we strike a chord with any other visitors. Having paid in excess of £800 for our two night break, we can only say it was poor value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDP-BOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay at the Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. I would like to thank you for comments regarding the staff which I will be sure to share as I know they will appreciate your kind words.

In light of your comment regarding serving Prosecco by the glass in the Road Hole Bar we have taken the decision to make this available and I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I was very disappointed to learn of the service levels you encountered throughout your stay and of course service should be flawless and consistent throughout the hotel. I would like to assure you I have highlighted your comments with our Executive head chef and manager of the Road Hole Restaurant for his urgent review.

Please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards of service here at The Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. I do hope that you will afford us the chance to rectify this particular experience. Please contact my office directly and we will be delighted to oversee the details of your stay to ensure you experience a memorable visit.

With kind regards,

David Scott - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,058 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Andrews
666 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing