We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February stay in luxury . ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Course Hotel for 4 nights .
It was a gift to my partner who loves golf .
We could not have had a better experience , if at all anyone tried .
We were welcomed at reception with a glass of bubbly , . The concierge , the room... Lovely .
The view at breakfast overlooking the 17 th hole , . The food and service from all waiters/ waitresses , truly made us feel like only we mattered .
The golf was brilliant ( as a novice myself ) . We were booked on the Dukes but unfortunately it had been snowed shut , but were allocated another links course very quickly .
The Road Hole bar was a delight , ore dinner cocktails .
The Spa is exquisite, if a little too cold in the pool but we quickly realised that going into the Thermal baths and then swimming was not the best idea .
We had a full body massage , was amazing , but they do add 10% on for a gratuity tip, so just know your final bill will be a little extra .
Over all , one if the best weeks away we have ever had .
Service , hotel, food , hospitality , ambience . Absolutely worth the money and worthy of 5 star status .
We will return .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are just back from a fabulously relaxing 2 night stay at the Old Course. As mentioned previously, the spa facilities are great and so are the breakfasts. It is a great place to chill and yet only a short walk into St. Andrews with its fantastic cafés and bars. Special mention goes to Kat in housekeeping who called back promptly to say she had found the iPad charger that I left and that she would pop in it the post for me. Kat you are a star!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SGF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Bags were whisked off to our room upon arrival, it was a beautiful room with a view of the old course (a must room feature for golf lovers). Enjoyed afternoon tea at the Road Hole bar (make a reservation) and they even packed up our left over treats for us to enjoy later in our room. We then moved on to the spa/swimming pool facilities where we loved the hot/cold pools and rooftop hot tub (we returned the next morning before breakfast and had the place to ourselves). We had a casual dinner at the "Jigger Inn" pub, which was very reasonably priced and served top notch pub fair (fish and chips are a must have along with the house brewed draft "Jigger Ale"). The next morning we had a wonderful continental breakfast (included in the room price) with a view over the Old Course and St. Andrews, the food was well presented and once again staff very attentive. We would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a first class experience in a beautiful and romantic setting.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with an Old Course view a must for golf lovers.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having stayed in St Andrews frequently I had always thought this hotel would not be worth the extra money compared to some of the other hotels in the town. I was wrong! This hotel was fabulous with nothing too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel is big it still retains a personal touch and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My boyfriend treated me to a night at The Old course and we absolutely loved it, we used a voucher from Itison and even though it was very quiet in the hotel we took full advantage of the facilities. From checking in to checking out we were treated like royalty, our room was a Eden view room and was spotless,very well equipt . A big shout goes out to all the staff at the hotel especially the 2 concierge on nights Scotty and Terry whom we nicknamed little and large for obvious reasons (if you visit you will know why) even room service was a joy,order was taken and delivered within 15 mins and delivered with a smile. Also thank you for letting me raid the Quality st dish for soft centres. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a course view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Was lucky to be treated to an overnight stay at this wonderful hotel. From the moment you arrive it feels special. The staff are exceptional everyone we meet were very friendly. The facilities are fantastic in particular The Spa. Not only do you have the indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and indoor jacuzzis. There is a plunge pool and on the rooftop you have an outdoor hot tub superb ! If you are feeling flush you can also buy a £25k rolex from the inhouse Mappin and Webb easy. There are no negatives to report, if you can afford to go here or as we did managed to get a great deal then you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 318 looks onto the 1st, 18th holes and you can access the roof through the window although don...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My other half and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Old Course Hotel. We took advantage of Itison's £129 offer which includes a welcome drink on arrival, breakfast the next morning and full use of the thermal spa. Having visited the Fairmont a couple of years ago, we were keen to sample what the Old Course had to offer.

From the outside, we didn't think that the hotel itself looked particularly special but inside it was sheer luxury with friendly concierges at the door who will carry your bags and can offer advice about the hotel and surrounding area.

Upon our arrival at reception, the female receptionist was efficient but lacked personality during what should have been the perfect opportunity for the hotel to make a very positive first impression on new residents of the hotel. Being early, our room wasn't ready yet so we had a walk around and could have used the spa facilities if we had wanted to.

We returned to reception later and were given our welcome drinks by a male staff member. The check-in procedure was straight forward but no information regarding breakfast was forthcoming and my other half had to ask.

Having been told that there was availability for our specific dates, my other half bought the voucher from Itison and called back within 5 minutes to make the booking. This time, she was advised that there was no availability and she had been misinformed. Cutting a long story short, we were upgraded to an Old Course room free of charge (should have been an extra £50) which we were both satisfied with.

The room itself was very nice, the bed comfortable and house keeping were very friendly. The shower head in the toilet needs to be replaced as it has seen better days. Unfortunately, at 8.30 the next morning we could hear sawing from the room above - I cannot for the life of me believe that residents paying full price would be subjected to this noise at such an hour. Had we paid more than what we did, I would have most certainly complained to reception. The corridors leading to our room had signs on display advising that residents were not seeing them at their best due to upgrading - not an issue for us as they looked fine.

Breakfast consisted of a full continental and cooked breakfast which you could help yourself to. Toast and tea is served by a member of the waiting staff and all in all it was delicious. My other half asked for a poached egg but it didn't arrive and we had to ask again. The staff were lovely however and very attentive.

The star of the show in this hotel is the spa - outstanding it has to be said. In truth, this was the main reason we took advantage of this offer and we would not hesitate to return. The thermal experience was wonderful as was the roof top jacuzzi - overall, on the spa front we couldn't have asked for more and we left feeling suitably refreshed.

Overall then, a very positive experience. For the money, we thought it was great value and on the whole, the staff really make you feel like a valued customer. We will definitely return if such deals are available in the future but we would probably try other hotels in Scotland before paying full price here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter1984_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £179 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing