We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friends on a golfing trip. Checked in on a Sunday after a hard graft round a very wet and windy golf course nearby and were welcomed on check in with a nice glass of prosecco! What a nice start. We relaxed in the spa for the rest of the afternoon and this was fantastic - what a place! Simply stunning! We had dinner in the Jigger In and the food and service were 1st class. Our evening was rounded off with a few drinks in the bar and what a setting this is, even for the non golfers! Breakfast was had early doors and again the welcome and food were lovely. The food set us up for our big day on the Old Course! If there's a way to have a golfing weekend then this is it! Can't wait to return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ADouglasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    213
    96
    23
    17
See reviews for
252
821
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Enjoyed a lovely stay at this hotel with a close friend. Very relaxing. Staff polite and attentive. food amazing- what a lovely treat we had! Great location. Spa is amazing so many different pools to use. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Look out for the roof top jacuzzi - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_MP015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a fantastic view of the old course and St Andrews, the spa was superb,be early for breakfast,we had a half hour wait.other than that we could not fault anything,staff are superb, we were in room 100 this had a great view, at no extra cost,

Room Tip: Ask for room 100,superb view without paying through the nose,get up early for breakfast,there can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Old Course Hotel just can't be beaten. Great hotel, fantastic staff and food. The setting is also fantastic. What else can you say about it. Excellent facilities and St Andrews has got so much character and history.

Room Tip: Pay extra for room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have had the luxury of another stay at one of my favourite hotels. It is worth a stay over just for the spa . However this time the kids for a treat had arranged the " taster menu " meal in the Road Hole . It was just fantastic , great choice of food , beautifully presented and loads of it !!.
On return, we will be booking the taster again.
Great service too and a good warm welcome from the staff on arrival.
On

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Love this hotel from the braw lad in the kilt who takes your bag
outside to the glass of fizz as you check in. The staff just make your
stay first class. We had a minor problem with the room on arrival
but it was quickly dealt with much to our satisfaction.
Spa facilities lovely nice pool plenty fluffy towels robes
good toiletries etc just sheer indulgence. Beds are wonderful
ours really long pillows so comfortable meant to ask which brand.
Soundproofing and air conditioning really spot on.
Breakfast was panoramic shown to good table overlooking golf course
town and beach simply breathtaking. Not like some hotels where you
are put where the staff want you to sit.
The only negative part is having to leave. Would definitely stay longer next time
there is so much to see nearby anyway.

Room Tip: One overlooking course and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We couldn't decide where to go for a catch up with family. Couldn't have made a better choice. Having been to other 5* establishments just outside Glasgow and used lodges and hotel accommodation and spa the Old Course Hotel surpasses all.
I would have to say that the staff are attentive, smart and well groomed, customer service excellent and at the top of their agenda. Rooms spotless, bar service great. Nothing is a problem. We will be back time didn't allow us to stay longer on this occasion. Even our 18 and 22 year olds were delighted. :) thanks

Room Tip: If you have choice to for golf course or sands views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
396 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing