We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent a delightful daughters/Mums weekend break celebrating one of the group's special birthday. Very friendly staff, excellent pool and spa and charming fourth floor bar in which to relax, enjoy company and views over the Old Course to the sea.

Really comfortable beds and bedding with the best pillows ever found in a hotel.

A grand hotel that lives up its star rating yet not at all stuffy or overly formal. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gershwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    206
    93
    23
    16
See reviews for
233
782
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed in the Old Course Hotel and Spa for 1 night for my partner's birthday.He is a golf nut so it was the obvious choice for us.

We paid £265 for a ROOM ONLY GOLF VIEW ROOM.

The hotel itself is gorgeous and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.
HOWEVER, our 'golf view' was of an extremely small patch of the Old Course. Beside our window part of the hotel building stuck out so it really obstructed our view. We could honestly barely see any of the Old Course at all.
2 other complaints - the lamp beside the bed had a broken shade and was spattered with what looked like blood. The T.V remote control did not work.

Good Points - Gorgeous bar and restaurant area on the 4th floor with spectacular views of the Old Course - so don't bother paying for a 'golf view' room as you can admire the view from the bar perfectly. Nice Golf shop on the ground floor.
The Hotel looks to be a bit outside St. Andrews town centre but myself and my partner could walk it in just under 10 minutes which saved us getting a taxi in the evening.

Try Little Italy restaurant in St Andrews, you won't be disappointed although you do have to book in advance.

Yes I would stay again - if I could find a 'Groupon/ 5pm' deal and I wouldn't bother paying extra for a golf view room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melly2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and my mother went to The Old Course Hotel to enjoy a spa day.

From start to finish our experience was absolutely fantastic! The spa was beautiful and well maintained, plenty of different facilities. The staff were very professional and the food was very delicious!

We both left feeling very relaxed! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicnak_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Although regulars , we took advantage of an itison vouchers to add an extra stay.Wish the hotel offered their returning guests loyalty discounts!! We love the hotel location--within easy walking distance of the town centre. We usually upgrade to an old course facing room which offers quite amazing views. Lunch at the Jiggers Inn is our usual before going into town to see the sights and visit our favourite hostelries . This time e evening we dined in the Hotel's ground floor Sands restaurant which is excellent and certainly not overpriced. And breakfast on the fourth floor Old Course is always excellent with a wide range of beatifully fresh food. But what makes the Hotel is it's staff. Friedly , knowledgeable but unobtrusive. We will be back again and again .

Room Tip: old course facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My friend and I came to Scotland for a golf trip and spent a few days here. I had a wonderful room right at the corner of the hotel along the 17th. The room was very nice and the service was wonderful. The only meals that I had at the hotel was breakfasts at the Road Hole Restaurant. It overlooks the course and is a full buffet. We stuffed ourselves as we would skip lunch to play golf. Everyone was friendly and I really enjoyed my stay. if I ever return to St. Andrews I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawtygrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Purchased a voucher via itison. Booked to stay at the hotel and upgraded our room to view the golf course and booked in spa treatments in advance. We arrived at the hotel lots of parking available. We were greeted by staff we were friendly and checked us in. We arrived early so we checked into the spa and were informed we would be called once our room was ready.

The spa was fabulous especially the outdoor pool and hydrotherapy. I was booked in for the North Sea Hot stones which was really great! Excellent massage would definitely be back for another treatment in the future. Watch out for spa times for kids splash time!

On arrival to checking in our room we were offered our welcome champagne and shown to our room. Room was large and spacious. Bathroom very clean with Arran Bath Products supplied.
We were asked if we needed dinner reservations however we has made plans in the town.
Road Hole Bar was great for after drinks - we were lucky we had the place to ourselves!

Location of hotel is so central. Only 10 minutes to the town centre. Beautiful walks and scenery.
Breakfast was unlimited buffet which was Ok nothing special. However, the view was amazing! To get a good table I would advise going earlier for breakfast to get a good view!
Would recommend the spa and treatments.

Room Tip: Upgraded to view the 17th -18th hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minstrelbhoy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having been to the old course hotel before, we knew the high standard that we expected. However, on this occasion we were left slightly disappointed.

We had asked when booking if we could get into the hotel a little earlier than the advertised 3pm. The assistant said she would note this and see what she could do.
On arrival at 1pm we were told that our room was not ready (no real problem here as we knew that it should be 3pm) However, the assistant took our mobile phone number and told us that she would phone us to let us know when our room was ready.
No phone call ever came. So at 3pm we went to book in and were allocated our room. So, not really the best of starts.

Our room was one of the Eden rooms that overlook the car park. No problem there, a lovely room with a huge bed, a large bathroom and power shower as well as complementary toiletries. It also had a large television with numerous channels and films that could be viewed.

Being there before we knew how good the spa facilities are, so we headed down there.
But again we were slightly disappointed as I was unable to get a dressing gown, when I enquired about this I was told that they had run out and there would be no more made available that day. Although the spa was busy you would think that provision would be made for an adequate supply of dressing gowns.

After a good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast in the fourth floor restaurant overlooking the golf course and west sands.

All in all pretty good, but not quite 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have fab views, but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minstrelbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
28.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
29.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
29.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
29.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
28.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing