We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in a standard room as we weren't prepared to spend even more to get a nice view. Nice room with a lovely clean bathroom and great shower over the bath. Bathroom was rather on the small side, not really matching the 5* prices. We ate dinner in the Road Hole restaurant twice and loved it. Extremely courteous and pleasant staff and outstanding food. Breakfasts were super-lovely fresh fruit and lots of choice. Hot food could have been hotter!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebell5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

There is something oldy worldy about this hotel, which makes it feel special. The welcome was great with the added touch of the complimentary welcome drink and a room with a view of the 18th was a bonus. Loved the spa even if the plunge pool was a step too far. Was on the pricey side especially as breakfast wasn't included, but a trip to Forgans made up for this.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Over the past 5 years we've visited the Old Course Hotel once or twice a year to relax in it's spa and grounds, sampling the restaurants etc and generally staying for a night or two.

This time round i couldn't agree more with the previous review. As mentioned, the doorstaff and welcome from them was excellent, this is let down badly by the dour faced reception girls.

1) Reception staff were awful, it was tantamount to booking into a morgue, actually I'm sure a undertaker would be more welcoming.

2) We were shown to a room that positively stank, an aroma which was a mixture of damp and eau du de changing room. We changed room.

3) The new room was fine, if a little tired, the shower however was broken, poured everwhere at the connection point. On informing the staff we mentioned that we were going to use the spa and were told 'at least you'll get a nice shower'.

4) Ate in The Sands which is the grill restaurant, steaks were disappointing, normally they're outstanding, ribs were poor, fatty and boiled. Avoid.

5) The thermal spa had a number of items broken in it, the maintainance chap said it'd been like that for a while, I noticed loads of the mosaic tiles were coming off all over the spa.

To sum up the hotel rooms and spa could do with a refurb. The public areas are all very nice as are the staff (apart from reception).

If you still insist on going, ask for a room overlooking the course and ask for dinner, b&b prices as they are generally better value than just booking online.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the course and definitely check out the dinner, bed and breakfast prices...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bounty181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my fifth visit to the OCH and have always loved it, it is still a good hotel but on this visit it fell short.
It's the little things that take good hotels to great.

Positives:
- The welcome at the front door on arrival is the best, your greeted like on old friend who has only been gone a couple of days
- The spa and staff are truly world class
- Breakfast is fantastic with a huge selection of very high quality products

Negatives:
- The front door staff handed me off to reception where I encountered what can only be described as a miserable member of staff. If you don't like people I would suggest not working front of house
- We were a little early so the room was not ready, not an issue someone would phone when it was. That call never came.
- Asked for a morning paper each day, it never arrived had to pick up at breakfast
- The outlook to the Old Course was amazing although let down by mould on the window edges
- A part repair to the ceiling was clearly evident

I still love the OCH but it's standards are not where they were and work is needed to be a truly 5 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Allpro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Old Course Hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy this visit as much as you have previous ones. I have taken your feedback very seriously and I am working with our Front of House, Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to address any training needs and product improvements.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and your time in the spa. I do very much hope that we once again have the opportunity to welcome you, as an old friend at the front door, to experience a visit that exceeds your expectations.

Many thanks,

David Scott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends on a golfing break. The rooms aren't the biggest but our room was nicely furnished and enjoyed a golfers dream view over the famous 17th Road Hole. Bathroom was again a bit small but nicely kitted out with deep bath with rain shower above.

Breakfast is served from the 4th floor with panoramic views of the famous St Andrews courses. The breakfast is equally as good with an excellent choice.

My only grumble with the hotel was the prices charged in the bar - unbelievably expensive so drink in the next door Jigger Inn.

As you might expect the hotel is very well suited to golfers with a bag room to store your clubs and prepare for your next round. The team that manage this area are superb and drop you too and from the driving range and starters huts although a few of the courses (New, Jubilee and Old) are easily walkable from the hotel.

If your going to do the St Andrews Golf experience (and you should!) best to do it in style and stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had two wonderful days at The Old Course Hotel. Treated so well. Faultless on all aspects . Spoke to the Operations Manager Mr Scott who was asking how our stay was. Could only compliment him and his excellent staff for their attention to detail. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsSeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A true five star experience, without the price tag to match - we managed to get a deal via hotelconnextions and will absolutely be back...Stunning room, friendly, helpful staff and located right in the heart of town - breakfast was a delight in the most picture perfect setting overlooking the golf course - fabulous!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOJE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £129 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing