We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in this hotel as a special treat for my husbands 30th birthday. My husband is a keen golfer, I booked a room with a golf view. It was a stunning room and we found the staff very friendly and could not do more to help us. Complementary champagne and canopies were delivered to our room, we were made to feel most welcome. Breakfast was delicious and we again enjoyed the view of the golf course. Hopefully we will be fortunate enough to visit this amazing hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: I would pay that little extra for a golf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    213
    96
    23
    17
See reviews for
251
820
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great venue and really enjoyable day.
Very well organised and everyone had an excellent time.
Stunning surroundings and special mention to Alan the Barman who looked after a bunch of us with an exceptional level of service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecole77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for a single night after a wedding. I grew up in the town so this was an indulgence. This is a hotel that oozes quality throughout. The staff are well trained the rooms first class and breakfast as well as being delicious overlooks the most famous golf course in the world. I would love to have stayed longer and enjoyed the rooftop hot tub but the pool and steam rooms were a lovely way to start the day. Needless to say all fitments in the bathrooms etc are by Kohler!

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course and if money is no object then one of the suites would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Many if not every golfers dream is to stay here with an Old Course view. I could go on and on about what was very good like the food, service, the decor, but one thing would keep me from returning and it was the bed. Dear God what were they thinking!

We were promptly taken to our beautiful fairway suite with a breathtaking view of the 17th fairway. The room was HUGE with 2 rooms and 2 baths. Amazing. Then i walked into the bedroom and was greeted to a seemingly queen bed. Not appropriate for me and my son, but they assured me " no worries" we will make it into two. ??? Well they did, it was actually 2 single bed put together. They were smaller than my college dorm room bed. When I layed on my back a roll onto your side would promptly deposit you on the floor. No joke. I couldn't believe it. This beautiful room and hotel and these jokes of a bed. It ruined it for me. I got maybe 4 hours of sleep a night going from course to course like a zombie. I have a suggestion for the management. Go to a Ritz Carlton and check out their beds, better yet a Holiday inn in the states have 2 queens!,

So if your staying as a couple I suppose the 2 beds together may be all right but 2 singles.. Forget it. Stay elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gniconovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay.

I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy a good night’s sleep. The beds in the Fairway Suites are King Size, typical of UK Standards, which can be twinned by separating into two single beds or zipped together to provide a king size bed. I believe US beds may be bigger and I am aware that in the US, double double rooms are quite usual and that some hotel chains in Europe can provide this also. I do apologise if you found the single bed to be too small but unfortunately most of the beds in our hotel are configured this way and our rooms do not have the square footage to hold two doubles.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments and please contact me directly if you are staying in St Andrews and we can look at customising a room for your comfort.

With kind regards,
David Scott
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed with a large group for a conference. Very well looked after and superb rom with all the details right. Breakfast overlooking the old course with loads of sunlight and the sea in the background was amazing plus the breakfast itself was very good and nicely served.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Recently went there for out wedding anniversary.. Worth every penny!! Warm welcome from the staff. Got taken to our room where the staff showed us where everything was, wifi codes etc. Room was beautiful with a gorgeous view looking down the 18th whole. Also there was a card on our room from the manager wishing us a happy anniversary. Nice touch.. Spa- truly amazing!! I had a girl called shelly, very professional friendly and amazing at her job.. Very relaxing, clean and a wonderful experience. Will defo be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank --Milne07--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you plan on playing the "Old Course" at St. Andrews you can't beat staying at Old Course Hotel, everything was exceptional. The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. Location spectacular right on the Course. The Pro Shop staff was outstanding. The Road Hole Bar is a must if you like scotch. This every bit a five star stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trbbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing