We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our first experience of this hotel and it was wonderful! Arrived at 10am and were escorted by the concierge to the Spa as our room would not be available until 3pm. Spent the time in the spa and on the rooftop where there is a Hot Tub, lunch in the spa which was delicious and then to our room. Large, Airy, fabulous bed and pillows and a beautiful view. The Bathroom was exceptional and glistening, as if no one had ever been in their before. Late afternoon a drink outdoors at Jiggers Inn and then a walk round the Old Course, dinner in the Sands Grill which was lovely and then to the huge comfortable bed. Breakfast upstairs overlooking the course and what a beautiful breakfast, there was everything that one could want for breakfast and if it wasn't on the menu just ask for it and it would be cooked. Throughout the hotel and spa the service was excellent, staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer but this was a special treat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rensha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

There is something very special about staying at the Old Course Hotel and watching the holders move by on the Old Course, the New Course and the Jubilee Course. The hotel is quite luxurious, staff is most attentive, and the setting is spectacular. A once in a lifetime trip, but worth the wait.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravelingGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staying at the Old Course Hotel in St Andrews was an exceptional experience. The service was outstanding, the hotel beautiful and comfortable and the spa a pleasure.
Breakfast was included in the hotel price and was a plentiful buffet. If we were not moving on to another location, it would have been a pleasure to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VGehrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here this Saturday evening and were celebrating our anniversary - we didn't have a room over looking the course - but that didn't matter...the bed was beautiful and the pillows were excellent - great fluffy towels and very nice unusual toiletries.
We arrived quite early and wet straight to the spa.......heavenly to sit on the roof top in the sun in the Jacuzzi! the spa area is just right and we were very lucky that there were not many people in there so we felt very exclusive!
We had a light salad in the spa which was simple and delicious.
Whilst getting ready to go for dinner - which was quite late 9.30pm - we had a phone call from fine dining ....would it be possible to bring us some champagne and canapes?! why yes of course! it was - then we went for a drink in the Jigger Inn and then on the dinner - we chose th taster menu with wines and it was outstanding - Remis was a superb sommelier - the food was delicious - well balanced and delightful! when we went back to our room we had rose petals on the bed it was wonderful end to our evening - we had breakfast in our room and that too was excellent - we couldn't fault the hospitality and attention at this hotel - if there was a slight downside - it was the size of the bathroom - just a little on the small side - other than that it was all top notch!!

Room Tip: Maybe look at the rooms facing the old course - but our room was lovely anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile


This review is for the spa only.Excellent treatments ,good lunch.My only gripe is that they charge 10 £ extra for treatments on Saturday .I had the signature facial which was so relaxing.My sister rated the classic facial highly although she wasn't terribly impressed with the maternity massage.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmitaNeginhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When our tour guide booked us into a dump above the pub guest room, I wandered down to this classic spot where you hit over the sign on 17. They found a room for me at 12:00 midnight, helped me get my stuff transported from the dump and made things quite easy for me. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable with a giant view up 17 and towards the R and A on the Old Course. Well done Herb!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After a week in London at a Hyatt, we traveled to St. Andrews for my first golf experience where it all began. At the Hyatt, we could hardly move around the room without one of us stepping aside in the tiny closet of a room. When we were escorted to our room at the Old Course Hotel, my wife asked whether we could afford such a spacious room. Being a kohler property you can expect all the extras in the bathroom including towel warming racks. The staff were pleasant and you can "understand" them unlike trying to converse with some of the locals. We attended in May. Otis light until nearly 9:00 PM. while having dinner we could look down on the course watching the locals play golf. An absolutely wonderful experience. If you are looking for an upscale hotel on the course, this is the hotel for you. I loved it and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We did nothing special to obtain a great room. It must be the Kohler hospitality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dokepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £129 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing