We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic deal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay in thus fabulous hotel. It was fantastic. Found a great deal for dinner bed and breakfast at less than half the normal price for just bed and breakfast. The hotel was everything that we thought it would be and more. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and the breakfast this morning was amazing. Last night we ate in Hams Hame which again was really nice. All in all a fantastic last minute break .

Room Tip: They all seemed to be lovely. Some had better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatelfer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
246
802
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is magnificient by its location and the quality of the service, including at its restaurants. Enjoyed the superb room in front of the sea. The view is broad and superb. The rest of town is easily accessible by foot.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, the whole hotel is non-smoking, a fact that I learned only when I arrived, after book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hard to beat the first class experience at this wonderful Hotel right on the 17th hole of the Old Course. Expensive but worth the splurge. Walk to your tee times and all the restaurants in town.
Food in the Hotel, and at the great fairway side Pub on the grounds was excellent. Breakfast upstairs should not be missed either.

Room Tip: Choose room overlooking the course and the dunes and water beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The stay at this hotel was a gift to my husband from his daughter and ex-wife, for the night before he was to play at the Old Course for the first time. The room they booked for him was a single regular room, but when he got there, the hotel were all out of regular rooms. He was then upgraded for one night to the most amazing suite in the hotel. Our son and I were also there, and were allowed to stay in the suite at no charge. This room was truly spectacular - not just that it was huge, amazingly comfortable, and beautiful, but also looked out at the Road Hole (17th hole) of the Old Course. My husband had tears in his eyes. We even got complimentary canapés, fruit, and champagne! The whirlpool tub was wonderful, and the bed was large enough to fit all three of us - my only complaint was that the bed was constructed from 2 mattresses and I got the "gap". We spent part of the night watching Fifa futbol on one of the two large flat screens, and had a wonderful time. The staff was incredibly generous and kind. It was a fantastic experience for all of us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Recently visited old course hotel for a spa day. Amazing day, very relaxing. Staff was amazing, very helpful 5* out of 5. 4* for spa facilities ( a few things not good enough for 5* but it can be sorted I.e shampoo & conditioner were different make in ladies showers, both different fragrance, probably bought in tesco or asda. I expected shampoo/conditioner/soap/ shower gel with old course hotel own fragrance which can be purchased if interested / saunas could be improved by installing relaxing music in them so the noise from jacuzzi is blocked / push, pull signs missing on doors - I had to help a few elderly people to get out of jacuzzi room ). Gym 4* out of 5, none of headphones working which was a bit annoying, I tried every single machine & spoke to staff as well:( The full body massage - amazing! !! Lunch & champagne 4.5*, the only thing missing was a napkin when having my canapés & champagne. Lunch was amazing, not 2 heavy, not 2 light, just perfect, beautifully served. Overall, amazing experience, not 5* yet if comparing to other spa days, but still worth going there

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Katarina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The second of our hotels during our stay. Our suite view was of the old course. The staff were very attentive, welcoming champagne upon arrival in lobby.
The walk to town (St. Andrews) was about 15 minutes. Lovely shopping, good food and pubs.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful view of the famous Old Course Golf Course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a spa day as this is such a central location and it was amazing!
The staff were all fantastic. We were made to feel relaxed and important from the moment we arrived.
The facilities were second to none and as for the 80 minute treatment, you could almost fall asleep! Its perfect for a girly catch up over some champagne!
We expected a lot from the food and it certainly delivered.
Thank you very much. We will certainly be back.
the roof top hot tub was a particular high light

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumbleybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing