We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 1st to St.Andrews”

St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Edinburgh
1 review
“A 1st to St.Andrews”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having never been to St. Andrews it was a fantastic hostel to have stayed at for my trip, and have already recommended it to friends. Its so central, inexpensive, friendly, sociable, spacious, clean, flexible and fabulous! Absolutely worth booking a night or three.

Room Tip: Bottom bunk by the window for a night time summer breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
9
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

St Andrews Tourist Hostel is the "best accommodation in town" is just one of many quotes I heard during my time at the hostel, and I am not going to disagree. It is extremely good value for money and the staff are efficient, helpful, polite and went beyond the requirements of the job to ensure everyone in the hostel had a comfortable stay. As a long term resident I appreciated the incredible support that the staff offered. The facilities at this hostel are worth far more than the cost that the guests pay.

I met people from Nigeria, Spain, United States, New Zealand, Australia, Sweden, China, Ireland, Italy, Canada, Portugal, Czech Republic and the UK among others. The hostel was a reflection of the location, a global melting pot. The hostel has helped me settle back into St Andrews and I have met several people I will stay in touch with for the rest of my life. I would recommend the hostel to anyone who needs accommodation in the town, including groups of golfers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great hostel to stay at, all the guys there are really friendly and helpful. Great vibe around the common areas. If in St. Andrews be sure to check this place out as it is the perfect location and great spot to chill out especially after a round of golf

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

First of all: I would definitely come back here. I'll just illustrate the advantages/disadvantages:

+ Great staff: The guys were very lovely, we even got the last slices of their birthday cake :) Gave us some great advice for our Scotland road trip!
+ Well equipped kitchen
+ Nice and comfy living room

- Rooms are quite small, same applies for the showers (You should attach shelfs on the inside of the doors and a second hook!)
- No 24h warm water, but most of the time there is hot water
- Kitchen closes at approx. 10pm
- £20 for St Andrews is in my opinion rather expensive for a small 8 bed dorm

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

great little gem in st.andrews. Helpful friendly staff. Clean toilets and bathrooms. All mod cons, even has cafetiere! Central and convenient.would have preferred single sexed dorms as had teenagers. Will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The good: very nice hostel with good character, the best value in St. Andrews, nice staff, comfortable rooms (stayed in the 5 bed) with no bunks, very active and lively common area. The bad: no lockers in rooms (or at all?), very little hot water in the showers. Overall, a great place to stay. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting St. Andrews!

Room Tip: No lockers in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegabond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I am the parent of an American St Andrews Student so I have stayed here more than once. While it is more of a youth type hostel it has been very comfortable and great for me when visiting alone. The hostel is right in the center of town and across from the Student Union. The entrance is a bit tricky to find - you have to got down the side of the building as the Hostel is upstairs from a restaurant. There is a painted sign on the wall separating the restaurant from the adjoining property. The Hostel itself is colorful and clean. I have always been able to use a restroom/bathroom when needed without waiting. The kitchen is easy to use and has multiple storage areas. I have stayed in a 5 person room and an 8 person. The rooms in the back are quieter than the front rooms because of noisy students on the street if there is a big event or party at the union. If you want convenience, economy and decent comfort and can sacrifice a bit of privacy, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rear rooms and top floor tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
307 reviews
6.6 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Tourist Hostel

Property: St Andrews Tourist Hostel
Address: St Mary's Place | Inchape House, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Andrews Tourist Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic old town, this newly opened hostel has been given a 3 star rating by Scottish tourist board. Five minutes from the bus station and all local attractions. Lively hostel with a cozy atmosphere and friendly staff who will advise you on bookings and travel arrangements. Newly fitted self catering kitchen, large lounge/dining room, with satellite TV and DVD, free tea/coffee, e-mail access, and no curfew. Book a bed ahead service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Andrews Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Tourist Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing