We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid breakfast”

Ogstons on North Street
Ranked #83 of 146 Restaurants in St Andrews
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good solid breakfast”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It won't win any awards, but the breakfast at Ogstons is fine. A nice selection of staple foods and a well cooked Eggs Benedict.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The restaurant is small - decor style modern scottish - definite nod to tourists with the antler chandelabra. As we sat down we were the only diners. The waitress coulds not have been more pleasant.
Food was lovely - up market pub food I think I could call it. My wife had pate. I had a duck salad. I expected the duck to be warm. It was cold but succulent and tasty.
For mains we both had chiken balmoral - basically chicken with haggis stuffing. VERY tasty.
I forget what my desert was but all in very tasty meal in nice surroundings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel was wonderfully boutique-like and so very comfortable. Although our bedroom was above the doors to the bar/nightclub/hotel entrance - the noise was tolerable. The staff at this hotel were so very nice - from the hotel staff to the dining room staff. The location is perfecty close to the main streets and University. Will stay here again...always!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TxStateofMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and Food. ”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We had a table of 10 woman. The waitresses were very good, quick service. Enjoyed the atmosphere, it is a small restaurant but that wasn't an issue. The food was really good, and reasonably priced. Only complaint would be my first choice of wine wasn't chilled, but waitress did notify us of this and she recommended a great alternative. Already booked to return in 2 weeks.

Helpful?
Thank MissMcQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good dinner - pleasant evening”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our first time dining at Ogstons and we were pleased with the meal, setting and service. A small dining room which provided a cosy atmosphere but not a crowded feeling. Has a round table (suitable for 4 or 5) in a corner window with a great view of all that is happening outside. Food was well prepared, plentiful and hot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank still_trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ogstons on North Street also viewed

 

Been to Ogstons on North Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing