We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening meal with friends”
Review of The Dunvegan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dunvegan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money, can thoroughly recommend the pasta and my daughter and hubby enjoyed the haddock and chips. Friendly and attentive you could spend hours looking at all the pictures. Will defiantly pop in for a meal next time I'm in St Andrew's :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1andrea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I visit St Andrews regularly and my most recent visit was an overnight stay at the Dunvegan Hotel. Sheena and Jack (The Owners) are legendary in St Andrews and beyond,and I certainly see why. The service they provide is great. As a golfer, the atmosphere is second to none, with the Old Course literally on their doorstop, and the Town itself steeped in history and a paradise for Golfers who demand the best of the best.
The Dunvegan is a perfect retreat for golfers and non golfers alike, provding great accommodation, excellent food and a great value for money.

Thoroughly recommended

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank GLEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I'm not long back from a trip to St Andrews in a group of 20. This is the 5th year I have made the trip with the same group of lads. The Dunvegan has always been our drinking base for the week and for the last two trips we have stayed there as well.

The accommodation is great. Above the pub are 5 spacious double rooms. Extra special is the additional Dunvegan owned Annex across the road above Auchterlonies golf shop. Here you will find three large double rooms, 2 very spacious bathrooms, a large lounge and a kitchen area. You will not be disappointed. The breakfast is great. A full English is on offer along with fruit and cereal and i noted a fabulous omelette being rustled up once or twice.

The pub itself is wondrous. If you are a golfing eficianado then you could spend hours looking at the old photos and bits of memorobilia that adorn the walls. I could sit in this pub all day, every day if time and money would allow. The fact that the most iconic golf course in the world is a hard hit pitching wedge away is but an added bonus!!

Jack and Sheena run a well oiled ship and are fabulous hosts. The bar staff are super-efficient and never less than friendly. Special mention to Lindsay who aside from her skills at running the bar just happens to be one of the nicest people I have ever met.

Visit soon, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDavid_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I took my 3 older sons to experience the home of golf in Scotland. Sheena made us feel like the most important guess at the Dunvegan. The breakfast was delicious and travel information made it easy to get around. We had an issue with our golf van and Sheena made it right with them and told me that we were there to play golf, not be stressed. The employees throughout the hotel are fantastic and super helpful. I am bringing back another group in 2015 and would only consider the Dunvegan. I really felt like we had the Scotland experience.

Room Tip: All are equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

No better place to stay in Saint Andrews, maybe all of Scotland. You won't find a better place to be before or after your round. Great rooms, spacious and comfy. Hanging out in the pub is a great time as you meet a great mix of locals and tourists. You never know who you might run into while enjoying a pint. Staff is excellent, very accommodating. The breakfast, along with the conversations with other guests and the owner is a great way to start the day.
Every future trip of mine will be booked at The Dunvegan. Great bargain too!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joethepro59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Myself and 3 other American golfers chose this location becuse of the Texas A&M logo on their website. We were treated with the hospitality you find in the great state of Texas - Sheena made the stay one we will never forget. Her staff and her accomodations were perfect for us. We would HIGHLY recommend this place for it's location, the food, it's bar and most of all the service. Thank you Sheena! Gig em! Whoooop!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were a party of six. We arrived late in the afternoon in the dusk. The staff helped us to our rooms which was the thee bedroom suite across the street. They showed me where to park my car and then a visit to their friendly pub. The rooms were large, clean and well appointed. Sat TV and Wifi. St. Andrews is a lovely town and here you're right in the middle of it. Just a nine iron from the Old Course and a short wall to the other sights. Because it was late in the season the restaurant was not open but the pub had a full menu. Breakfast was filling and Sheena even helped us with arranging tee times. Enjoyed it so much we stayed a second night, a relaxing break from an otherwise hectic motor tour of the UK. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmccoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunvegan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunvegan Hotel

Address: 7 Pilmour Place | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Hotel St Andrews
The Dunvegan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing