We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand the positive reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't understand the positive reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here for one night. Room was dated and extremely cramped. The rooms are not soundproofed so the noise travelled up the stairwell all night. It would not take much to make this hotel more comfortable but unless this happened I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    107
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
78
86
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our daughter was married from the Albany on 29th September this year. Obviously we have stayed at the Albany previously but I have had to write another review as the staff were absolutely superb. Everything we asked for happened i.e. we asked for continental breakfast to be available, we asked for a buffet to be prepared, extra Prosecco to be available and it was.

We had the Garden Suite and the Junior Suite booked which were very reasonably priced and very spacious - really superb to fit in the bride, bridesmaids and hairdresser on the morning of the wedding.

We could not ask for a better location - it was more or less opposite the wedding venue, or better service from the staff.

Many of the guests stayed overnight on the Friday and Saturday and I didn't hear of any complaints only compliments.

We will certainly be re-visiting at our earliest opportunity.

Once again a massive thank you to all.

Room Tip: We have stayed several times and have never had a problem with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so delighted that we were able to contribute to making your daughter's wedding day so special. It was a pleasure to have your party stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. I have passed on your lovely comments to the rest of the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hotel staff were very friendly. Breakfast was serviceable - not gourmet cuisine but fine enough. What I could not understand is the price - it seemed very expensive at £115 per room per night. Our twin room was small, fairly basic, with outdated decor. Plus it was noisy as next to the dining room. The bathroom was small - good shower though! Maybe we just had a bad room - if booking, ask to NOT be in the twin room right next door to the dining room.

It was very clean though, and my bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Do not have the twin room next to the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31yrfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. Room 11 is usually used as a single occupancy room but as your stay was during a very busy time for us (we had a large wedding party in that weekend, booking out the whole hotel) we allocated rooms as they were booked, with room 11 being the last allocated. We are also sorry that you found the price too high - we always try to offer competitive rates with other hotels in the area and our prices are similar to those offered by other 3 star hotels in St Andrews during September. We welcome any requests from guests and while we are unable to guarantee all we try our best with any preferences that are requested.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My partner booked the Albany for a special treat for my birthday back in Feb, We where not disappointed at all its a great hotel wee cosy and comfortable staff where always friendly and helpful,They even arranged through my partner for a beautiful bouquet of flowers to be in the room upon my arrival,It is located is walking distance to the little town centre bit with the pubs and shops, Even in Feb St Andrews is beautiful even if it is freezing but The Albany was always nice and warm,We paid for breakfast and dinner at the hotel the breakfast was always nice and had a good choice of things and the dinner was served just round the corner in a sister hotel and the food was beautiful, It truly was a special weekend for me and i'd recommend St Andrews and the Albany hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here - it's always nice to have happy guests and we are thrilled that we helped make your birthday weekend that bit more special. We hope to welcome you back to The Albany again.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Alabany is perfectly located to explore St.Andrews town. I only stayed for 1 night as had other accomodation arranged but enjoyed my stay. The staff are very helpful, booking multiple taxis for me and the check-in/out process was very easy. My room was comfortable with a good bed and was very clean. Th breakfasty was decent too with a buffet and hot cooked to order options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and we are glad you found the staff so helpful.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very nice hotel in centre of St Andrews. Room was very nice with all the comforts that one would expect. Service was great and the food was of good quality also! Would definitely return and would definitely reccomend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us so highly. We hope to see you again on your next visit to St Andrews.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring St Andrews on foot.
Our room was very clean & the bathroom was very large with a nice selection of Scottish toiletries and large bath towels.
There was a good selection of dishes for breakfast which is buffet style for cereals & juice etc whilst the hot selections are cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you will return to The Albany Hotel on your next trip to St Andrews. I will pass your comments on the the rest of the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing