We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Quaint and Clean”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm, Quaint and Clean”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference in St Andrews. I got a room overlooking the road. I had requested for a family room and got a double bed and a single bed. The room was clean, neat and well equipped. I particularly liked the toilet. The room was airy and bright. There was a flat screen TV on the wall as well as a writing desk. I liked that there was a kettle. The hotel itself was well-located and just a few minutes' walk from Market Street and the main sites. The breakfast was very nice! In addition to a breakfast buffet, we could also order a hot meal, which was well prepared! There is a nice sitting area at the front of the hotel too - with a fire and access to drinks. The staff was nice and helpful. All in all, my stay was nice, warm and I would happily recommend this place to any visitor to St Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    128
    50
    14
    13
See reviews for
100
105
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at the Albany in St Andrews B & B for three nights in April 2013 with my wife. The hotel is welcoming,and centrally situated within walking distance of shops, restaurants and Old Course Golf club. The staff are friendly, attentive and without formality. Bedrooms are adequate and comfortable for short stay. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked and continental. I am advised to stay in room 12 if available next time and would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggs176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. The room was small but very comfortable. Enjoyed the stay but with breakfast over at 9:15 an extra sleep wasn't an option. Much too early in my book. Shame really as everything else was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonniepalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I can't fault this charming and cosy hotel. I was in room 5 and it was lovely - well equipped and very cosy (fluffy towels and a thick duvet) with a view over the courtyard. The breakfast was great - generous portions and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. My poached eggs were done perfectly. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return here on my next visit to St Andrews. It is well located for the centre, university or a round of golf. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a charming, quaint B and B in the heart of St. Andrews, on "B & B Row". There are several things that set this one apart from the pack, though. First, the owners are unusually kind and gracious; the small but cozy sitting room has a homey gas fire going; the rooms are large and well-equipped- unusually so- with little thoughtful touches such as blow-dryers and toiletries; and the breakfasts are tasty and ample. The beds were comfortable, and the inn was quiet. In fact, my only caveat was that the spacious bathroom featured only a shower stall rather than a bathtub. In short, I enjoyed my stay, and I'd definitely recommend this B and B to anyone visiting St. Andrews. While it didn't have the views of the previous B and B I had stayed at, the graciousness of the owners more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PellegrinaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I, at short notice, booked a room. Pleasant, well communicated process which led to a highly satisfactory 1night stay. Clean, fresh (painter at work), comfortable, centrally-located establishment. Staff first class. Breakfast had everything you would want and, although busy, staff coped very well.
We would return without hesitation - a lovely experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J.D.Newcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We do hope you will return to The Albany.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I loved my 1 night stay here also, single rooom at the back of the hotel, Family run, friendly, clean, the lounge is lovely warm and very welcoming to enjoy a drink and chat, a special mention for Emily who was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff, Well done keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic2riaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your comments and I will pass this along to Emily and the rest of the staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Albany in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
311 reviews
6.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing