We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“between average and very good”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
1 review
“between average and very good”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

+: Very nice hotel, nicely situated, nice people, good breakfast. Very romantic, ld building. Good bed.

-: Unfortunately the people in the room above me made quite some noise at night and you can hear that all too well because the building is old.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    113
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
80
92
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Albany is in a good location for St Andrews, but considering the price for a room the 3 nights we stayed there were just an average experience.
Plus points: The staff were friendly, especially the reception staff & the free WiFi worked well. The room was clean & breakfast was OK, although it is telling that we went out for breakfast on the third morning rather than taking it at the hotel. Free parking in front of the hotel was convenient & not difficult to get a space.
Not so good points: The bathroom was poorly fitted out and very cramped. The double bed was small, and the whole room gave the impression of being tired & in need of a substantial renovation. In the past I have stayed at B&Bs in St Andrews that have been of a similar standard (or better), that have cost less.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Before booking we had checked Trip Advisor and things looked positive. The 2012 Trip Advisor certificate of excellence was prominently displayed as well. This together with the £140 price for an overnight stay should have been enough to guarantee a good stay. With a price tag in this range you expect the premises to carry a certain amount of gravitas. Oh how wrong and disappointed were we.
In my opinion this place does not meet the dictionary definition of a hotel. In my opinion this is a guest house or B&B. Not a very good one at that.
First the positives, the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, not spectacular as some reviews would have you believe but good.
So what were the problems. The room we had, room 17, was very small. The en suite was tiny. You can not brush your teeth unless you leave the sliding door open. It needs to be a sliding door because the room is so small. The room was unclean and dusty with peeling paint. I am not talking about running a finger over the top of picture frames wearing a white glove. I am talking about the bed frame, bedside lights and bedside tables. The room was next to the stairs and was noisy. You knew when every single person travelled up the stairs outside the room. The television was small and of poor quality, it had a terrible viewing angle. The shower was pathetic I would have been better waiting for a passing rain cloud or using a watering can.
There is a nice sitting area downstairs with bottled beers etc stored in a couple of fridges. No draught beers but that is okay. It would have been if the beer was in date, it was 2 months past its sell by date. When my wife checked her bottle of coke is was 2 months out of date as well. When we pointed this out to the staff we were told they had pointed this out to the management previously but nothing had been done about it.
When somewhere charges £140 for a nights stay it should deliver against a certain level of expectation. The Albany certainly fell short in so many different areas.
This was a hugely disappointing stay. There are better places in St Andrews for considerably less money.

Room Tip: If you have anyone with access difficulties then this may not be the place for you. There are many s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyrtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference in St Andrews. I got a room overlooking the road. I had requested for a family room and got a double bed and a single bed. The room was clean, neat and well equipped. I particularly liked the toilet. The room was airy and bright. There was a flat screen TV on the wall as well as a writing desk. I liked that there was a kettle. The hotel itself was well-located and just a few minutes' walk from Market Street and the main sites. The breakfast was very nice! In addition to a breakfast buffet, we could also order a hot meal, which was well prepared! There is a nice sitting area at the front of the hotel too - with a fire and access to drinks. The staff was nice and helpful. All in all, my stay was nice, warm and I would happily recommend this place to any visitor to St Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at the Albany in St Andrews B & B for three nights in April 2013 with my wife. The hotel is welcoming,and centrally situated within walking distance of shops, restaurants and Old Course Golf club. The staff are friendly, attentive and without formality. Bedrooms are adequate and comfortable for short stay. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked and continental. I am advised to stay in room 12 if available next time and would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggs176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. The room was small but very comfortable. Enjoyed the stay but with breakfast over at 9:15 an extra sleep wasn't an option. Much too early in my book. Shame really as everything else was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonniepalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I can't fault this charming and cosy hotel. I was in room 5 and it was lovely - well equipped and very cosy (fluffy towels and a thick duvet) with a view over the courtyard. The breakfast was great - generous portions and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. My poached eggs were done perfectly. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return here on my next visit to St Andrews. It is well located for the centre, university or a round of golf. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDiseworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing