We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party of 4 Golfers”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Party of 4 Golfers”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was the fifth year we have stayed here using the St Andrews Winter Golf Package.
There has been considerable refurbishment making this a very comfortable place to stay. The only restrictions are that there is no dinner menu, and the bar does not serve draught beer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    112
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
80
92
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked into the Albany Hotel as my child was starting University in St Andrews. The location is excellent and is very near to the University and the town. Free parking was located directly in front of the hotel. I would class the Albany Hotel as a Bed and Breakfast rather than a hotel and rather expensive for what it was. The room was located one floor up which was far enough to carry luggage without a lift. The room was quite a nice size although very dated but quite bright with a nice sized window. Amenities were fine as was the television and the wifi was excellent. The bathroom was compact but was clean as was the room itself. Unfortunately, prepare to make enough time to shower, the water pressure was non existent and I had to make do with a trickle which was not pleasant. The cooked breakfast was very good. The buffet breakfast that was provided looked very sad and the bread most certainly was not fresh. The service staff at breakfast were were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatholsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yankpara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed the Albany three times now, and each time was wonderful. The location could not be better for visiting the University of St Andrews as it's situated within walking distance of everything. The rooms are small, but that's to be expected given it's a converted house located in the middle of town. The staff is incredible and the complementary breakfast is great. I will always stay at the Albany when I'm in town.

Room Tip: Ground floors avoid carrying luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is refreshing that we can read an excellent review from one of our regulars who enjoys staying with us . Many thanks for taking the time to record your experience with us. It is very much appreciated .
Perhaps you can introduce yourself as being a reviewer when you next arrange to stay with us. It is especially satisfying to meet guests who regularly stay with us and provide us the opportunity to discuss in more detail how they find us and perhaps provide further constructive comments.
Thank you again from myself and the management and staff of the Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Albany Hotel on Aug. 14, 2013. The room was very small, old, but quite clean.
The best thing about the place was the fellow at the front desk. He had worked for the Albany Hotel for many years and was extremely helpful with suggestions where to eat, travel tips, sightseeing recommendations etc.
Hot in the hotel, but the front desk had a table fan for us.
Expensive, but within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us and glad to read the staff were very helpful and assisting. Due to the age and originality of construction of the hotel the rooms in the hotel are all individual by size and design . Sorry on this occasion we appear to have located you in one of the smaller rooms but this may be a reflection on the room type you arranged. Smaller rooms are offered on a lower rate than the standard rooms. We do normally try and upgrade guests to larger accommodations if available. In the height of the season this is not always possible.
I do hope you will stay with us again and perhaps consider reserving a standard room on the next occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent a bit more here than at any other place we stayed on the road trip we took in Scotland, and well, it is St. Andrews so we expected that. I didn't mind that the hotel was old and funky, but I did expect the room to be less dusty and the beds to be newer and more supportive. Get on it, people!

Our room had a terrace and it's own bath. The shower was really tiny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdx_traveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide the review following your stay with us. Naturally we are disappointed with the shortcomings you appear to have had during your short stay with us. We would have welcomed the opportunity to correct any areas you felt did not come up to our normally high standards of housekeeping.
The mattress in the room you occupied was replaced temporarily due to an accident caused by a guest. It may have been the older spare mattress at that time.
At present , subject to planning permission being received , we plan extensive refurbishments to the room you occupied and the one adjacent to it. In addition to a change to room sizes and layouts both rooms would have new larger bathrooms.
Your constructive comments are welcome and thank you for taking the time do do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is possibly the worst "hotel" on the face of the earth.
Don't be fooled into believing this business is suitably named.
It is most definitely NOT a hotel, a guest house or B&B would be more apt.
We were lied to upon booking regarding the room, the noise is more akin to a Youth Hostel rather than a hotel.
You can quite literally hear everything that is happening in the "hotel" from your room.
Expect to be woken by late night revellers, early morning workmen and general noise.
The facilities are awful and if you have a dust allergy I would suggest you bring your own dust buster as well as every room has a horrid musty smell.
If you book here expect to pay 5 star prices for a Guest House that would struggle to be awarded 1 star.
The only plus side is the location isn't too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_M_From_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Don't think he missed anything but apart from that there is a strong element of untruths in these unbelievable accusations.
i would be very upset if in any respect we lowered ourselves to provide any logic to this persons review.
No record of a Mr M from Notts staying in August , certainly not one that booked every room ( that he claims to have seen )in the hotel.
For a person to post a review they do not necessarily need to have stayed or even visited the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and also on the 'hotel's website, my partner and I paid £280 for 2 nights stay in Room 14, a "Double Room". After entering the room we noticed the electric heater had come off the wall, the shower mat was what could only be described as disgusting, the "flat screen tv" was tiny and also at a horrible viewing angle. After paying this amount for our stay we thought we would of experienced a nice, clean hotel.

Very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing