We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a better shower”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need a better shower”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I recently stayed in the Albany Hotel while delivering a lecture at the University. The reason I stayed there was proximity to where I was lecturing, about a five minute walk. A second good point was that the breakfast was good and hearty. On the negative side, as mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms were small. This is to be expected in a hotel of this size. However, what really made my stay awful was the shower. First of all, I had to be instructed by on of the staff to turn the shower on using a switch outside the bathroom door. Then, I got the shock of my life. The shower alternated between freezing cold and scalding hot to the point that I could not safely have a shower, so simply "sponged" off my body. Since Scotland was cold at this time, not having a decent hot shower was a terrible way to start the day. If I get back to St. Andrews, I will certainly avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure they have fixed their shower problem before even reserving a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    128
    50
    14
    13
See reviews for
100
105
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was looking a last minute hotel or B&B in St. Andrews. We founded an offer in The Albany, I stayed several times in St. Andrews but it was my first time in The Albany. The location could not be better! The staff very friendly and helpful, all of them! Breakfast was good, a lot of choice. Room could be bigger and less noisy, that was the only problem.

Room Tip: Second floor, nice view, but need help with the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvinrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good location of the hotel, shopping malls,bars and restaurants everything is near the hotel. Also you can easily find the way from the hotel to the main street (Quenn street) in Edinburgh.Service is nice,very polite stuff.Room is not too big,but bathroom is huge, it's good to stay there for 2-3 nights not more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was the fifth year we have stayed here using the St Andrews Winter Golf Package.
There has been considerable refurbishment making this a very comfortable place to stay. The only restrictions are that there is no dinner menu, and the bar does not serve draught beer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked into the Albany Hotel as my child was starting University in St Andrews. The location is excellent and is very near to the University and the town. Free parking was located directly in front of the hotel. I would class the Albany Hotel as a Bed and Breakfast rather than a hotel and rather expensive for what it was. The room was located one floor up which was far enough to carry luggage without a lift. The room was quite a nice size although very dated but quite bright with a nice sized window. Amenities were fine as was the television and the wifi was excellent. The bathroom was compact but was clean as was the room itself. Unfortunately, prepare to make enough time to shower, the water pressure was non existent and I had to make do with a trickle which was not pleasant. The cooked breakfast was very good. The buffet breakfast that was provided looked very sad and the bread most certainly was not fresh. The service staff at breakfast were were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatholsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yankpara
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed the Albany three times now, and each time was wonderful. The location could not be better for visiting the University of St Andrews as it's situated within walking distance of everything. The rooms are small, but that's to be expected given it's a converted house located in the middle of town. The staff is incredible and the complementary breakfast is great. I will always stay at the Albany when I'm in town.

Room Tip: Ground floors avoid carrying luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is refreshing that we can read an excellent review from one of our regulars who enjoys staying with us . Many thanks for taking the time to record your experience with us. It is very much appreciated .
Perhaps you can introduce yourself as being a reviewer when you next arrange to stay with us. It is especially satisfying to meet guests who regularly stay with us and provide us the opportunity to discuss in more detail how they find us and perhaps provide further constructive comments.
Thank you again from myself and the management and staff of the Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Albany Hotel on Aug. 14, 2013. The room was very small, old, but quite clean.
The best thing about the place was the fellow at the front desk. He had worked for the Albany Hotel for many years and was extremely helpful with suggestions where to eat, travel tips, sightseeing recommendations etc.
Hot in the hotel, but the front desk had a table fan for us.
Expensive, but within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us and glad to read the staff were very helpful and assisting. Due to the age and originality of construction of the hotel the rooms in the hotel are all individual by size and design . Sorry on this occasion we appear to have located you in one of the smaller rooms but this may be a reflection on the room type you arranged. Smaller rooms are offered on a lower rate than the standard rooms. We do normally try and upgrade guests to larger accommodations if available. In the height of the season this is not always possible.
I do hope you will stay with us again and perhaps consider reserving a standard room on the next occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
311 reviews
6.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing