We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good altogether” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good altogether”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was a bit nervous about staying here because of some of the previous comments, and because I was booked into a single room, but in fact everything was fine and I enjoyed my two nights there very much.

Room Tip: I had a view of the street and some of the lovely old university buildings, which I really appreciat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    104
    45
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
83
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ealing, London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked for 1 night (23rd April) for a party of 4x males (2x twin rooms) for a golfing trip. Hotel is well presented and very clean. Staff are courteous and very helpful and were extremely accommodating to us when we arrived early and the rooms weren't ready, to provide us with an area to store our luggage. Rooms (12 & 16) were nice and beds very comfortable. The breakfast options were excellent. Would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, request a ground floor room as the stairs are steep and there is no po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the Albany Hotel Easter week for a couple days of golf at St. Andrews (A tick off fathers bucket list). The family had two suites, one on the first floor and the other directly above. Each suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. The ground floor had a nice garden patio area and the above suite had a lovely balcony. Very good value. Just a perfect stay for a great week!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boswella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked this hotel as we needed overnight accommodation in St Andrews. As the town is quite small the options are few and many were very expensive. As we were there for a wedding and only needed B&B and a shower, it suited us fine. The location on North Street was perfect as it was almost directly across from St Salvator's Chapel (where the wedding was held) and there is a small bar area (seats about 10) by reception where we managed to get a drink and a sandwich before the service (food available was choice of cheese/ham or smoked salmon/cream cheese sandwiches, no other food available, but this was suitable enough for us).
Our room (number 10) was perfect as it was twin room with ensuite and separate room off ours which had another bed (there was 3 of us travelling). The second bedroom area opened out onto a small decked terrace area with table and chairs for outside seating, so ideal for smokers or those who want an area to sit in the fresh air and sunshine overlooking the small but well tended garden.
Breakfast was fairly good with a small menu of cooked items to choose from, and a selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit.
Total room cost was £180 (between 3 of us) which I still find quite expensive for what is essentially a small B&B type establishment, but with the golf event on the week we went there was little option of better value and overall we were very happy with what we received.
In summary, I'd recommend this, especially for the room we had. There are other establishments closer to the centre, but St Andrews is so small it is fine. Beware also of some establishments who promote themselves as St Andrews but are, in fact, well outside the town as some of our friends found out to their dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auch, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Took advantage of a weekend break when passing through St Andrews recently, we were across from France and wanted somewhere with traditional Scottish hospitality, the room was perfect, cosy warm and clean, the staff very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast , everything from full Scottish to kippers, we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fenderjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Wasn't arriving in St Andrews until midnight for a 9am meeting so I stayed (I mean crashed out!!) in a small single. Excellent value for a small but perfectly formed room, comfy single bed very clean en- suite and windows that actually open for some fresh air.
Breakfast was very tasty and with a wide choice of buffet style cereals, yoghurt, bread and pastries plus an included hot option really couldn't fault this lovely little find.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWeddingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend as taking student daughter back to University after her spring break.
My usual hotel was unfortunately booked up due to Mother's day weekend but glad I stayed here instead. The Hotel has real homely and much loved feel. My single room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom immaculate. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned at first as I am a tired middle aged woman travelling alone however, Keith, the very capable night porter, put me at ease and brought me a much needed drink in the fabulous hotel lounge. A real fire was burning - all that was missing was a large fluffy cat reclining on the carpet. The Scottish breakfast was outstanding and expertly served by Kevin who immediately brought me extra tea and milk upon request. The hotel is in a fabulous location and I parked at the front. I didn't have to move the car all weekend as the hotel is centrally located and close to everything. All in all a real find. And I shall be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back terraced garden are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing