We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff were lovely and place was good for the money! So central and so charming. Would definitely stay here again! The linen was so soft and fresh, felt like I was staying with family. The breakfast was good value for money and filled me up for the day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74HiltonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    107
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
77
86
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is across street from University. A number of very nice rooms including a suite featuring a private garden. Easy parking on street near hotel. Very near sightseeing at St. Andrews Cathedral and only 5 minute walk from the center of town and 10 minutes to Starter for Old Course. Usually quieter on this end of town.

Room Tip: The Garden room has plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Albany for 5 nights the third week in June. I wanted to give a better rating as we liked the location, handy for everything, and the breakfast was good, waitresses very friendly. However, the very minimum I expect of a 3 star hotel, especially one that charges £140 a night, is a good bed and a decent shower. The Albany failed on both these requirements. The bed was uncomfortable and the springs were noisy. It took me 4 days to work out how to get the trickle of water that came out of the inner circle of the shower to a temperature that my body could cope with. We felt we were fobbed off when we spoke to reception staff about this. They know this room (no 18) is sub standard and don't want to get involved. The toilet has a sani-flow unit which is very noisy and churns all the time water is running in the basin and the shower. The room itself was fine, clean but a bit tired. Old cream curtains let in full daylight at 4.30am.
I probably would not have given a poor review if we had only stayed one night but 5 days was just too long to cope with the shower. I found myself panicking about how I would wash my hair and ended up hanging over the bath and using cold water to avoid scalding my scalp.
From reading other reviews, most of the other rooms must be of a much higher standard. A bit of investment is required in room 18 to make it worth it's high price tag.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Albany Hotel in St. Andrews, Scotland. While our room was small, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are phenomenal ! The service is excellent and we found all of the staff we had interactions with to be extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect...close to the golf course, restaurants, the cathedral, castle, and St. Andrew's University.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were 3 travelers. We had 2 rooms within a room, sharing the same bathroom. We had a patio with a table overlooking gardens. Breakfast was delightful. The service was excellent. It was within walking distance of St Andrews golf course, the castle and cathedral ruins, and shopping. Very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102anytimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got into town late, and the room was all set up as requested with extra beds and was great. The service was impeccable and they arranged for an early breakfast - 5:30am so that I could make an early tee time at the Old Course! Breakfast was fully ready to go and the service was above and beyond in all respects!

Room Tip: Don't miss this great hotel just up the road from the Old Course!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverBobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the family room (1 double, 1 single) on the top floor -- no lift so you will schlep your bags up multiple winding stairs. Neat old hotel with lots of character. Breakfast was very good. The street was a little noisy as partiers were on the street. I thought the price was a bit steep but that seems to be the going rate in St. Andrews. The location was great for walking anywhere in St. Andrews.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaF701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing