We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hospitality and staff.”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hospitality and staff.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite small but well-appointed. The location is perfect for just about anything one would want to do in St. Andrews. Rooms on the north side are noisier due to the street noise. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a shower large enough to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCTiger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    112
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
80
92
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

All over service was commendable but the breakfast was truly special - we were spoilt for choice! Rooms were good. As golfers we always needed a hot shower and were never dissapointed.

The Building is old but not run down. Good value. Good patronage! Good Value

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are named such as the Bunker
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel sight unseen for a fri nite-sun morning stay. Passing by the town and hoped to walk on the old course..a few days out i emailed to confirm my stay, and got a wonderful lesson in what great service means...and as a reference point, i have top status with marriott, spg, and hyatt.

I worked with a lady named Ellen - every hospitality company should try to hire her...i told her what i was trying to do-get to the course early (after a long day of travel) to optimize my chances of play. This is information that is pretty much irrelevant to her life, but not only did she offer to arrange a cab to make sure i got there on time (which i didnt need b/c its an easy walk to the course), but she offered to have a continental breakfast set out for for me at 4:30 am as the chef doesnt start cooking until 7'ish. And this was a reflexive response on the first email. To a total stranger-no diamond level rewards status here.

Now the (slightly) downside. The room was tiny, there is no lift, and getting the shower temp right was a process. But that was it.

Fantastic location - funny how the ratings are inversely proportional to the distance from the old course. They're all an easy walk to the course. Doubt it has to with the service.

Bottom line: cant wait to go back to St Andrews to play golf and stay at the Albany (already working with Ellen on the reservation).

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CardboardCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff were lovely and place was good for the money! So central and so charming. Would definitely stay here again! The linen was so soft and fresh, felt like I was staying with family. The breakfast was good value for money and filled me up for the day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74HiltonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is across street from University. A number of very nice rooms including a suite featuring a private garden. Easy parking on street near hotel. Very near sightseeing at St. Andrews Cathedral and only 5 minute walk from the center of town and 10 minutes to Starter for Old Course. Usually quieter on this end of town.

Room Tip: The Garden room has plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Albany for 5 nights the third week in June. I wanted to give a better rating as we liked the location, handy for everything, and the breakfast was good, waitresses very friendly. However, the very minimum I expect of a 3 star hotel, especially one that charges £140 a night, is a good bed and a decent shower. The Albany failed on both these requirements. The bed was uncomfortable and the springs were noisy. It took me 4 days to work out how to get the trickle of water that came out of the inner circle of the shower to a temperature that my body could cope with. We felt we were fobbed off when we spoke to reception staff about this. They know this room (no 18) is sub standard and don't want to get involved. The toilet has a sani-flow unit which is very noisy and churns all the time water is running in the basin and the shower. The room itself was fine, clean but a bit tired. Old cream curtains let in full daylight at 4.30am.
I probably would not have given a poor review if we had only stayed one night but 5 days was just too long to cope with the shower. I found myself panicking about how I would wash my hair and ended up hanging over the bath and using cold water to avoid scalding my scalp.
From reading other reviews, most of the other rooms must be of a much higher standard. A bit of investment is required in room 18 to make it worth it's high price tag.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Albany Hotel in St. Andrews, Scotland. While our room was small, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are phenomenal ! The service is excellent and we found all of the staff we had interactions with to be extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect...close to the golf course, restaurants, the cathedral, castle, and St. Andrew's University.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing