We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Whins Cottage

People have been coming here for a long time
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
People have been coming here for a long time
Private secluded walled garden Another sunny day relax on the decking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
People have been coming here for a long time
Private secluded walled garden
Another sunny day relax on the decking
Glass wall view
Glass walled lounge
Main Lounge
Dining & Kitchen
Bedroom with double bed
A famous place - Swilken Bridge
Ancient History - Castle 400m
Sunset from garden
En-suite Wetroom in each bedroom
Utility Room
Play or spectate it is only 200m away
Some visitors are free of charge
Coming by helicopter land here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordon R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just back from a fabulous week at Whins cottage. Great location with an easy walk to beach and town centre. Sheila and Ian are perfect hosts who will try and offer advice and assistance if required.

This is our second stay and hope to be back

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRobH
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation, quiet and close to town and Golf.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The property is modern and very well maintained, due to it's location it is quiet yet it's only a short walk to the town and The Scores is just through the garden gate. The Old course and club house are just round the corner. Everything you might need for a vacation is available and in excellent order. The accommodation layout is excellent making the most of the outside, it feels very spacious. We have visited St Andrews for the golf many times and you can't beat being near the courses, this property does just that. You can park up for the week and walk down each day. We would definitely use again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisegolf...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a great week in and around St. Andrews. The house has a very quiet location between North Street and The Scores. It was very well and modern furnished. Perfect for a Golf Holiday. Second bedroom could have more space and a bigger bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeeAbdn
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Whins is an excellent property in a first class location. I stayed for 4 nights with my kids and loved every minute. The Whins is very well kitted out, clean and warm. There was plenty of outside space for the kids to have a run around and for us to store our bikes. We were able to cycle to tennis , putting or the town centre. We will be back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Walton on Tham
2 reviews
“Great find and exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A wee hidden gem of a place. Beautifully furnished, very modern and yet cosy. A little tricky to find at first but after that it could not be better placed for golf and the town.

The only negative which is a tiny one is footboards at the bottom of the beds, when you are 6ft 5" it makes a little uncomfortable.

I will use again, in fact my family has booked for May.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nedpotter
1 review
“Excellent property.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We can't recommend this place highly enough. It's furnished to a very high standard, and is located in the centre of St Andrews. It's very comfortable, spotless and warm (we visited in February)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique design
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Hi Ned & Beccy

Thank you very much for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday at The Whins Cottage.
I very much appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments

Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
103MSF12
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back soon!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Whins Cottage is a lovely, contemporary property in a fabulous location. We are a family with a six year old and a four year old. We needed to bring a blow up bed for our youngest, but that was not any real problem. The living area is pleasant, the kitchen / dining area ideal and shower rooms so nice I want to replicate them at our own home. All in all Whins Cottage is a great place to stay to explore beautiful St Andrews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, modern design and location.
Liked least: I can't think of any negatives.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$123
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing