We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views & top quality accomodation... everything you could ask for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Andrews Country Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome views & top quality accomodation... everything you could ask for”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have been to St Andrews many times over the last 15 years and I have to say this was our best trip ever. The accommodation has everything you need to be a proper home from home with lovely touches like flowers on the table. Views to die for & a warm welcome from Stephen & the children (& Woody the friendliest dog).

We came for the Women's British Open at St Andrews and it was only a short drive into town where we usually stay but not now we know about the cabins. You can see so much from the cabins with great views & walks all around you. Bring binoculars as you see so much more! The weather was mostly great, but even with the high winds that stopped play at the golf, the cabins remained cosy & a joy to sit in and watch the view.

Cooking facilities are great with the option of a barbeque, but I must say we explored the many restaurants and can highly recommend Forgan's & The Steak Barn @ Balgove Larder. Book a Bothy in advance at Forgan's they are such an experience & you will not have a better steak than at The Steak Barn, nip into The Larder too as there are many temptations in there to take away.

We had family join us for a long weekend & they were very impressed. Like the other review says 'just add family, friends, food and a few bottles of wine' and I guarantee you will not want to leave. A week was not long enough & we are already desperate to come back. Thank you for a fantastic week.

Room Tip: You will be happy in either cabin & any of the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su_Suzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Cabins in July 2013 with our family and again not disappointed in anyway,The sun shone all weekend which allowed you to take in the view from the decking.Even on a dull day it`s good just to relax and unwind in the comfort of the cabin. A visit into St Andrews which is only 15min away and then a visit to Tentsmuir an area with forrest and a beach.Providing an area for families to gather and have a BBQ. Saturday night we had our own BBQ at the cabin not a problem, everything you need is available, just add family friends food and a few bottles of wine.The area is so peacefull yet close to all amenities, the more you visit the more you find out what there is available to do or not. I have never come across a resort with so many positive reviews! Looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: pick any room they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked at short notice, tried to get a Lodge ( recommended by a friend) could only get 3 nights B and B in the Farmhouse. Bit unsure about B and B because we had a 5 year old with us. On arrival we couldn't have been made more welcome. We had a massive en-suite bedroom with Double Bed and a separate sofa bed. Tea/Coffee biscuits supplied and constantly topped up Best 3 nights sleep I have had for a long time.En-suite shower was amazing after a long day on the beach, plenty hot water at a great pressure.The owners more or less made us feel part of the Family. Breakfast was provided at reasonable times to suit us, plenty cooked food supplied as well as cereal, Toast etc. Owners went the Extra mile at all times. We had to "Beg for Mercy" on the third day and ask just for Toast and cereal. The scrambled Egg made from freshly laid eggs were superb. Excellent views and surroundings, lovely short and long walks around the area. Also very interesting having a nosy round the Farm. Owners very approachable and I was constantly bombarding them with questions about the Farm. On departure we asked to see around the Lodge which was being vacated that day. Owners showed us around no problem. The Lodges are AMAZING. If I get the chance to visit this Area again I would definitely book one of these Lodges but would have no hesitation on booking the Farmhouse again. Recommend "Tentsmuir Beach" nearby. Owners appear to be constantly upgrading and improving the surroundings and are serious about making their guests welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggeorge1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a relaxing 4 night break in the luxurious eco cabin. Weather was glorious and complimented the breathtaking views from the spacious decking. Had the opportunity to extend holiday a further 2 nights and was that impressed with cabin we invited my parents to stay for a night. Ideal location for families and couples looking to spend quality time together. Owners were very friendly, helpful and a pleasure to meet. Felt very refreshed after holiday, would certainly recommend and will definitely return with the parents. Thanks Stephen and Amanda for a memorable family holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family spent a glorious week at St Andrews Country Cabins in June 2013 for our sisters graduation. We could not have felt more at home and the setting is remarkable. The cabin was one of the best we have ever stayed in and we wanted for nothing. I would easily recommend a stay here and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simple1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed there as a family for 2 nights and paid up for 3 as their min rental period was for 3 nights,but we really wanted to stay in this property looking at the pictures and online reviews,and The place was out of the world,one has to see it to believe it.
The Cabins were lovely in a beautiful surrounding with very warm Hosts.
The stay at St.Andrews would not be complete without experiencing theses cabins ,
Full Points..

Room Tip: The cabins are individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeenuSandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

As I was travelling alone and only needed accommodation for one night, I stayed in the farmhouse rather than rent one of the cabins, and was made to feel very welcome both on arrival and at breakfast the next morning. The en-suite room was lovely and exceptionally spacious and had a spectacular, uninterrupted view over the beautiful Fife countryside. The hosts, kids and dogs included, were very friendly, breakfast was very tasty, and the house itself felt very much like a well-loved home and had some lovely features.

I saw the cabins on the way up to the farmhouse, which is a little higher up, and they looked wonderful too (complete with a children's playground) so I hope to return with some friends (and small people!) next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalithaRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
9.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,975 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,099 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
11.3 mi away
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
5.2 mi away
Elderburn Lodges
Elderburn Lodges
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Country Cabins

Property: St Andrews Country Cabins
Address: Cuplahills Farm | Balmullo, St Andrews KY16 0AL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Andrews Country Cabins offer luxury self catering eco-accommodation on the outskirts of the Home of Golf. The cabins offer open plan kitchen-diner-living room, master bedroom with en-suite and two twin rooms with a shared bathroom. The cabins are located on a secluded hillside at Cuplahills Farm with private entrance, stunning views towards St Andrews bay and a kids play park. The eco-cabins offer luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller with plenty of attractions in the local area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Andrews Country Cabins Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing