We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in St Andrews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Andrews Country Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my family booked both cabins for 4 days before my wedding and we had such a special time. The cabins are luxurious with a lovely country cosy feel to them. Both cabins have magnificent views over the surrounding area and St Andrews. The cabins have all the appliances that anyone would need. I would recommend it to any traveller and I will stay there again next time I go to St Andrews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mariska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited St Andrews Country Cabins on Cuplahills Farm last week with our children (3 years and 1 year) and had the most amazing week. The location is perfect, with stunning views and a sense of privacy and safety given that there are only two cabins on the site. The kids loved being on a farm, watching the combine harvester work in the field next to us, playing on the slide and swing just outside the cabin, running in the fresh air and seeing the horses from the stables on the farm. The cabins are fantastic,providing all the comforts of home but with boutique hotel touches - amazing fluffy white towels and crisp white linen, fabulously comfy beds and beautiful decor. Amanda and Stephen were perfect hosts - welcoming and helpful with plenty of tips on things to do (including lots of free activities) in the area. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St Andrews Country Cabins for 4 nights with our two children (4 & 2 yrs). We had a tremendous time, not only is the cabin a great base to visit St Andrews etc yet the kids thoroughly loved the following :

- View from the cabins.
- The RAF base and the occasional fighter jet passing over
- The horses at the farm and the tractors.
- The kids play area

The cabin itself was lovely it had three bedrooms which was great and Amanda and Stephen have thought of everything, travel cot within the lodge for our 2 yr old, highchairs, kids plates etc. They have set up wifi for the lodges which is a great added bonus and just everything you could want was provided.

If visiting take a walk to the top of the local quarry and there you can pick brae berries ( small blueberries) we spent the afternoon walking up to the summit and the kids loved picking and eating them.

Amanda and Stephen were great hosts and our kids loved to play with their young children on the kids play area next to the lodges.

We shall be returning soon as we had such a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betts1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great week at St Andrews country cabins thanks to the luxurious cabins, fantastic hosts including children and Woody the dog, views to die for, very convienent location for St Andrews, Dundee and a number of surrounding golf courses and great company.

My parents booked into the farmhouse B&B and thouroghly enjoyed the experience thanks to the friendly and attentive hospitality shown to them by Steven and Amanda.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Davmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have been to St Andrews many times over the last 15 years and I have to say this was our best trip ever. The accommodation has everything you need to be a proper home from home with lovely touches like flowers on the table. Views to die for & a warm welcome from Stephen & the children (& Woody the friendliest dog).

We came for the Women's British Open at St Andrews and it was only a short drive into town where we usually stay but not now we know about the cabins. You can see so much from the cabins with great views & walks all around you. Bring binoculars as you see so much more! The weather was mostly great, but even with the high winds that stopped play at the golf, the cabins remained cosy & a joy to sit in and watch the view.

Cooking facilities are great with the option of a barbeque, but I must say we explored the many restaurants and can highly recommend Forgan's & The Steak Barn @ Balgove Larder. Book a Bothy in advance at Forgan's they are such an experience & you will not have a better steak than at The Steak Barn, nip into The Larder too as there are many temptations in there to take away.

We had family join us for a long weekend & they were very impressed. Like the other review says 'just add family, friends, food and a few bottles of wine' and I guarantee you will not want to leave. A week was not long enough & we are already desperate to come back. Thank you for a fantastic week.

Room Tip: You will be happy in either cabin & any of the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su_Suzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Cabins in July 2013 with our family and again not disappointed in anyway,The sun shone all weekend which allowed you to take in the view from the decking.Even on a dull day it`s good just to relax and unwind in the comfort of the cabin. A visit into St Andrews which is only 15min away and then a visit to Tentsmuir an area with forrest and a beach.Providing an area for families to gather and have a BBQ. Saturday night we had our own BBQ at the cabin not a problem, everything you need is available, just add family friends food and a few bottles of wine.The area is so peacefull yet close to all amenities, the more you visit the more you find out what there is available to do or not. I have never come across a resort with so many positive reviews! Looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: pick any room they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked at short notice, tried to get a Lodge ( recommended by a friend) could only get 3 nights B and B in the Farmhouse. Bit unsure about B and B because we had a 5 year old with us. On arrival we couldn't have been made more welcome. We had a massive en-suite bedroom with Double Bed and a separate sofa bed. Tea/Coffee biscuits supplied and constantly topped up Best 3 nights sleep I have had for a long time.En-suite shower was amazing after a long day on the beach, plenty hot water at a great pressure.The owners more or less made us feel part of the Family. Breakfast was provided at reasonable times to suit us, plenty cooked food supplied as well as cereal, Toast etc. Owners went the Extra mile at all times. We had to "Beg for Mercy" on the third day and ask just for Toast and cereal. The scrambled Egg made from freshly laid eggs were superb. Excellent views and surroundings, lovely short and long walks around the area. Also very interesting having a nosy round the Farm. Owners very approachable and I was constantly bombarding them with questions about the Farm. On departure we asked to see around the Lodge which was being vacated that day. Owners showed us around no problem. The Lodges are AMAZING. If I get the chance to visit this Area again I would definitely book one of these Lodges but would have no hesitation on booking the Farmhouse again. Recommend "Tentsmuir Beach" nearby. Owners appear to be constantly upgrading and improving the surroundings and are serious about making their guests welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggeorge1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
9.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
226 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Country Cabins

Address: Cuplahills Farm | Balmullo, St Andrews KY16 0AL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Andrews Country Cabins offer luxury self catering eco-accommodation on the outskirts of the Home of Golf. The cabins offer open plan kitchen-diner-living room, master bedroom with en-suite and two twin rooms with a shared bathroom. The cabins are located on a secluded hillside at Cuplahills Farm with private entrance, stunning views towards St Andrews bay and a kids play park. The eco-cabins offer luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller with plenty of attractions in the local area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Andrews Country Cabins Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing