We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Andrews Country Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Andrews Country Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having stayed 3 weeks in the wonderful cabins, we enjoyed every single day there. We have been very lucky as the weather was just perfect but even without this additional benefit, the location with its phantastic views is perfect to explore Fife. Stephen and Amanda are doing a perfect job to make you feel welcome and are very helpful should need be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cylyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

After hunting through tons of B&B and hotel listings in the general area of St Andrews, I'd almost given up hope of finding a place for my family of 5 to stay until I stumbled on this gem. And calling it a gem, is an understatement. As we planned to use this as a base while we traveled around Scotland, we really needed cooking facilities and three bedrooms... that weren't going to cost a fortune or have us scattered all over a hotel. I can't even remember now where I found the listing, but what a prize!

Our wonderful cabin had everything we could have wanted and more. The kitchen had a large fridge and cooker (even by American standards) and was fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes & cooking utensils. The washer and dryer were a godsend! The bathrooms were spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable. The master has an en suite and all the bedrooms had ample storage in the closets and dressers. A large dining table easily accommodated all of us for dinner. The living room was roomy and looked out on a large deck with an incredible view of St. Andrews and the North Sea. It was breathtaking!

We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived, but everything exceeded our expectations and I can't say enough about the cabin. Our sheep neighbors were quiet but so cute. And if the thought of being on a farm deters you, don't let it! There were no farm animal smells that we noticed, just fresh, clean country air and gorgeous scenery all around. All of our kids are teenagers, but after long hours in the minivan, they were thrilled with all the outdoor space, the sheep, the play area and, of course, the internet! The cabins were easy to find (we were a little worried about that) and it was a short 10 minute drive to downtown St. Andrews and only a couple minutes to a nearby minimart. My husband was able to golf in St Andrews and get a taxi back to the cabin while the kids and I roved around Scotland's myriad castles and lochs.

The owner, Steve, was awesome! He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed -- even rounding up a couple of thermoses for my husband's early morning camp-out at St Andrews Golf Course. Truly the best customer service that I have ever had. I would not hesitate to recommend the cabins to anyone for any reason. Although this was a family vacation for us this time around, my husband and I fully expect to come back on a more romantic visit. I was so sad to have to leave -- it was the highlight of our whole trip! :'(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

4 of us stayed in Coulthard for a few days in June. On arrival, we were amazed by the quality and standard of the cabin as well as the 180 degree panoramic views. My husband had us close our eyes as he led us to the large windows and French doors leading onto the decking to present us with the vista.
The cabin was very well equipped so we wanted for nothing. Stephen came to welcome us and to provide an overview of the heating controls and other practicalities. He was very warm and welcoming. When my sister mentioned that we had forgotten to bring the eggs for breakfast, he said he would drop some off later for us and later when we returned, we found them on the step.
I would recommend these cabins to anyone as I don't believe they could be bettered. We only wished that we could have stayed longer - we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having read great reviews we booked a weeks holiday in the first week of June and were not disappointed as it lived up to all our expectations.

Our cabin was 5 star and really well equipped with a lot more than the usual self catering basics. The views and the scenery from the enclosed decking were amazing and the surrounding walks were perfect for our family dog.

Stephen and Amanda were extremely welcoming and even offered advise on the local area. Having St Andrews 10 minutes away was an extra bonus.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPLPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The first impression always starts with the contact / booking: a kind, fast response and (later) a comprehensive description of how to get there by public transport made us feel very welcome. Nice 'typical' British house with a gorgeous view, fine beds, coffee or tea in the dorm and a perfect clean bathroom.
The family was very helpful, showed us around and offered us a ride various times. We appreciated that so much. Breakfast was fresh, full of choices and prepared while watching. We were welcome to sit, relaxed and play games in the kitchen or living room and had lovely conversations about our cultural differences (tartans etc).
If you want to stay in a serene area nearby a big city (St. Andrews), experience great hospitality though feel like home then Cuplahills Farm is definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This B&B was beautiful decorated at a lovely location. It was relatively close located to a train station with a direct connection to Edinburgh. The family was very helpful and friendly. We do not have any negative comments

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend with friends. The website does not do justice to the quality of the cabins and the location. The cabins are first rate and have everything you need for a weekend and indeed longer holiday. The surrounding vista is amazing, and you have a choice of all the delights that Fife has to offer or alternatively just soaking the superb scenery and relaxing doing nothing. Stephen and Amanda as many have commented on trip advisor are excellent hosts and made us feel extremely welcome and seemed genuinely interested in us having a good time. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
9.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.4 mi away
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Country Cabins

Property: St Andrews Country Cabins
Address: Cuplahills Farm | Balmullo, St Andrews KY16 0AL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Andrews Country Cabins offer luxury self catering eco-accommodation on the outskirts of the Home of Golf. The cabins offer open plan kitchen-diner-living room, master bedroom with en-suite and two twin rooms with a shared bathroom. The cabins are located on a secluded hillside at Cuplahills Farm with private entrance, stunning views towards St Andrews bay and a kids play park. The eco-cabins offer luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller with plenty of attractions in the local area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Andrews Country Cabins Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing